Skip to content

Weekend Wind-Up: Thanksgiving Edition

October 10, 2012

It was Thanksgiving here in Canada yesterday (which, for any of you who have ever wondered, is different from American thanksgiving because we have an earlier harvest due to being further north) and man, do I ever have a lot to be thankful for! My husband and daughter, my wonderful family (Including A’s) and friends. I’m healthy, well fed and warm (or cool thanks to AC) at night, living in one the most amazing countries in the world. What aren’t I thankful for this year!

We had a great weekend! It started with my darling hubby taking Friday off, extending his weekend to four days! We spent the day together with Molly, sofa shopping. The second attempt at getting a couch in our basement failed when the delivery guys couldn’t get it down the stairs. Back to square one! Ugh.

Saturday morning we were up bright and early to drive to A’s parents three hours east. The drive was uneventful, and with a stop to visit his aunt halfway there to feed and change the baby, we made it in just under four hours.
It was a quiet afternoon and evening with just us and A’s parents, watching movies and napping (me and Molly).

The next morning A’s eldest sister and her family arrived in time for breakfast, and his younger sister in time for lunch, which happened to be a super tasty turkey dinner!

Before we ate, I tried my hand at archery, something I’ve never done before! A’s dad has the equipment and I wanted to give it a go! It’s super fun, but I only shot a few arrows. It’s a lot of strain on the arms and neck and seeing as I suffer from tension headaches, I thought it best not to overdue. I’m proud that I hit the target board, though not the target itself. Ah well, not bad for a first try!

That’s my arrow on the lower right 🙂

After turkey dinner all of us went on a family walk to a little farm down the road. They had donkeys and cows, geese and other birds, and bunnies.

It was brilliant for A’s niece, who’s almost three and to be honest, pretty fun for us adults too! Molly wasn’t really impressed, though she did have something to say about the geese honking:


The evening was quiet, with a light supper of turkey soup and watching movies. A and I went to bed as soon as the baby went down. We were pooped!

After a nice Monday morning spent having breakfast, relaxing and playing cards, A and I packed ourselves up and headed home shortly after lunch. The drive was a bit tedious due to long weekend traffic and I had to get in the back to keep our little miss occupied for some of the drive (and took advantage of the back seat to have a quick nap), but it wasn’t too bad and actually quite nice with all the fall colours!

Overall a great weekend for Molly’s first stay away from home. I think we fared pretty well!

Hope everyone had a great weekend!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    October 10, 2012 8:45 am

    Wow….Molly is beautiful and so is that family photo!! Your pictures are also great and it looks like you had a fabulous day!

  2. A Miracle In the Works permalink
    October 10, 2012 11:09 am

    Molly is gorgeous! It sounds like a very lovely Thanksgiving!!

Leave a Reply

