Skip to content

Feeding Frenzy

August 29, 2012

I’m pretty sure today is Wednesday. And apparently it’s almost the end of August! This weekend is Labour Day weekend, which is so crazy that it’s september, but also blissful because it means a whole extra day A will be home with us. Molly and I miss him during the week!
Ok, so more me than Molly 😉 As long as she has my boobs in plain sight, she’s happy.

Our darling girl is going through a growth spurt, which for me means she is nursing all the time! Literally every hour to an hour and a half, day and night. We have a good routine down, but I’m not going to lie, it’s exhausting being on call that often as her personal chef. And because I’m trying to sleep when she sleeps, my days aren’t all that exciting. This morning we didn’t leave our room until after noon! (I’m relishing this luxury of time, knowing I won’t have it with our next baby. Not with a toddler to look after too!)

I was initially worried that her increased nursing was a sign there was an issue with my milk supply, but after a lot of research and recognizing that this is normal behavior for her age and that she’s showing signs my supply is just fine (numerous wet and poopy diapers, weight gain etc), I stopped worrying about that.

I briefly considered that maybe I’m feeding her too much, but we chose to feed on demand and at this stage she obviously needs the fuel to grow. When she starts rooting and sniffling, out comes the boobs, ready to go, even if it’s been 20 minutes since her last feast.

Other than round the clock feeding, which really isn’t a problem, just hard to get used to, Molly is an excellent baby. She’s really good tempered and other than a few breakdowns (if I don’t get her to the boob in time, look out! How dare Mama go to the bathroom!), she isn’t fussy at all.

I’m hoping her growth spurt will be over soon and we can get back to a less frequent nursing schedule (until the next spurt). In the meantime, we’re finding our way, one day at a time!

20120829-215945.jpg

One Comment leave one →
  1. A Miracle In the Works permalink
    August 30, 2012 10:14 am

    Molly is just so precious!!!

Leave a Reply

