Skip to content

A Post Baby Me – Two Weeks Later

August 22, 2012

I’ve got a few minutes while Molly is sleeping to write an update on, well, me.

Physically, I feel pretty good! Within hours after delivery, the epidural had worn off and I was back on my feet. For the first few days my lady parts were quite uncomfortable, especially with the episiotomy. I also had a raging case of hemorrhoids (quite common after delivery…the sign of effective pushing apparently. Super.). The ‘rhoids are starting to clear up, with the assistance of some medication, but I’m paranoid my episiotomy isn’t healing correctly, so I headed to the doctor yesterday. Something just didn’t seem right and that’s the last place I want something to go wrong!! Happily all is well!

I was quite swollen with edema the first few days as well, the result of the epidural and IV fluids I was on, but my body has since flushed all that out. Thank goodness! My feet and ankles look so skinny now !

My tummy has shrunk considerably since delivery and though a bit smushy, I’m happy to say I was in non-maternity yoga pants yesterday!! I’m still wearing maternity pants and jeans, mostly because they’re comfortable, but I’m hoping that won’t be the case for much longer. We’ll see 🙂

I’ve lost 20 lbs so far, and have another 25 to go before I’m back to my pre-pregnancy weight (I’m sure about 10 of that is boobs alone) but I’m not overly concerned about that. I’m ok with how I look right now. I did just have a baby after all! As soon as I get the go ahead from my doc, I’ll start back on an exercise routine, even if it’s just 15 minutes on the elliptical per day! In the meantime, I plan on taking walks with Molly when the weather is nice.

The absolute best news though is that my ligament pain is gone!! I’m no longer in pain when I move my left leg and it’s such a huge relief. I can put my pants on properly, I can roll over in bed without moaning in pain, I can get out of the bathtub on my own…there’s so much that I can do that feels good now! Next to meeting Molly, that was the most Important thing for me.

The hormonal downswing hasn’t been as bad as I anticipated. Oh sure, I’ve had some emotional breakdowns, but they’re usually precipitated by something that worries me (ie. Molly’s inconsolable crying). My hubby has been wonderful during these crying sessions, holding me and consoling me. Just letting me get it out. I know it’s hard for him, but he’s doing all the right things! They’re becoming less frequent as the days pass.

I’ve been making sure not to over estimate how much I’m capable of doing right now and I think that’s helping to relieve any emotional stress. My priority is taking care of my child and all else is secondary. If the dishes don’t get done, I’m not going to worry. The one chore I do make sure to get done is laundry. There’s practically a whole load on a daily basis!

I’m also trying to figure out a good napping schedule for myself. Sleep when they sleep they say. But that’s easier said than done! Afternoon naps are out for me, as that means I can’t get to sleep in the evening once she’s down for a few hours. Morning naps tend to work better since lately she’ll sleep until 10 or so, with errands/chores in the afternoon.

I’m happy to say I’m not afraid to venture out on my own with her, though logistically its harder with just one person. The big test will be in a few weeks when I take her downtown to visit my work!

All in all, I’m doing great. Its been s transition for sure, physically and emotionally, but I’m surprised at how fast I’ve bounced back. I thought post labour would be a lot different, more physically challenging. I’m tired, but it’s a different kind if tired, a rewarding tired. I’m caring for and nourishing my child. I knew exactly what I was getting into when we decided to have a baby and it’s an experience I’ve waited my whole life for.
There was a Proctor and Gamble commercial on during the Olympics, that commended mothers. The tag line at the end said “The hardest job is the best job”. That couldn’t be more true.

20120822-020441.jpg

One Comment leave one →
  1. K.Smitty permalink
    August 22, 2012 6:52 am

    Yay! Glad to know everyone is doing so well! It sure makes me worry less about my future hearinf one good story of a good recovery, so thanks for sharing 🙂 Best of luck to you and your sweet angel!

Leave a Reply

