Skip to content

Weekend Wind-Up

July 30, 2012

I was tired on Friday and wasn’t feeling well. My throat felt funny and I felt completely dragged down, so the extent of my activities was to make Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins and rest!

If I was coming down with something (can you imagine if I’d actually gotten sick? I would have cried. As if I’m not uncomfortable enough right now), I concurred it, because I was feeling much better on Saturday! While my Dad and A finished installing the floors in the basement (pics to come later; the now finished floors are currently covered with stuff!), I focused on cleaning floors on the first and second floors. I swiffered, I swept, I mopped, I vacuumed. All the floors in the rest of the house are now clean! My goal with all the cleaning is to be able to leave and come home to a somewhat clean home when we have the baby. I’m the type of person that needs to leave it clean when I go away for a few days šŸ™‚

In between cleaning, I made sure to relax. All the movement caused some major Braxton Hicks contractions, which, while not painful, were definitely uncomfortable. Thankfully my mom invited us over for supper so I didn’t have to worry about cooking. After dinner, my parents, A and I went on a double date to IKEA! Who knew IKEA was open on a Saturday night?

We picked up a really great desk configuration for the basement. We had talked about building it ourselves, but when I saw what we wanted on the IKEA website, for considerably cheaper than even building it ourselves, we jumped at the opportunity.

We chose this corner table (Vika Amon in black/brown with silver Vika Adils legs):

And this side table (Also Vika Amon and Vika Adils):

 

 

 

Together, this gives both A and I a spot to sit at our computers (he has two monitors and gets the corner desk) and there’s still plenty of room for the printer as well! And the whole configuration was only $120!. I also found a little white table to put in Molly’s room (Lindved, only $19.99!) next to the glider:

Sunday we puttered around a bit before my Dad arrived to help A install some of the doors in the basement (they’re all in too! Bi-fold doors to the furnace room, an outside door to the cold storage and a plain ol’ door to the storage under the stairs. Again, pics will follow once things are tidied up a bit and more visible). Because I’d been so busy the day before, I took it easy. I did my basement duty and painted some of the baseboards and trim for around the doors (an easy chore) and then headed up to my sister’s for a quick visit.

I came home, made lunch for my crew and then had a nap. After my nap I pretty much did nothing the rest of the afternoon. I was pooped! I made us hamburgers for supper and then A and I settled in to watch a couple episodes of Lost.

And now it’s Monday! My chore for today was to paint the doors that were installed in the basement, and fill in the holes in the trim. Mission accomplished! Now my master plan is to clean up (I’m a messy painter! My paint pants just barely fit under my belly) and take a nap. Sleep last night was illusive. I literally woke up every hour either to pee (I think the baby is moving further down; I’ve been feeling more pressure over the past few days) or to adjust my position. I said to A last night that I look forward to being a bit more agile and graceful šŸ™‚

I’ll leave you with a funny moment from IKEA on Saturday night. Hope you all had a great weekend!

C: I’m thirsty. I need a drink.

A: What do you feel like?

C: Something sweet-ish.

A: (looks at me funny and looks around the store) Something Swedish?

C: (bursts out laughing)

A: (bursts out laughing)

C: I totally didn’t mean to do that! I meant that I want something a little sweet!

A: Nicely done!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2012 4:03 pm

    OMG I thought the same thing this weekend, thought I was coming down with something and I was like OMG what if I have to give birth WHILE I’M SICK! I am also feeling better today thank god! Glad to hear you’re not sick just before baby arrives!

  2. July 30, 2012 6:36 pm

    I caught a cold the day I went into actual labour. It was the worst thing ever! Between contractions I was coughing up phlem and feeling horrid.
    They say that a lot of women get sick right before they go into labour, maybe it’s a sign!

Leave a Reply

