Skip to content

Molly’s Room

July 25, 2012

Well, I’m finally ready to reveal Molly’s room! There are a few small details to take care of still, but it’s entirely possible I”ll go into labour before we get to those details and then I won’t have time to post for a bit, so I decided to share anyways. Here we go!

This is the view from the doorway:

And the view from opposite the doorway (the wall behind me is the closet with double doors. I don’t have a pic of that view):

In the image above, you can see the details that are missing: A little side table to go next to he chair, the lamp (which you see sitting next to the bookcase. It was A’s Grandma’s and needs to be rewired before we use it) that needs to hang over the table, and a couple of more pictures need to be hung over the bookcase…I’m working on creating some art in Photoshop but won’t be able to print them until after Molly is born.

This is a view of the ‘sitting’ area. Our glider chair, which is soooo comfortable (excellent on my back), suits the room nicely despite being a chocolate brown. (The pink blanket was one of mine when I was a baby).

A close up of the curtainsย  made:

The dresser with our wedding craft hanging over it. And how cute is the little ceramic elephant? He was only $6. I couldn’t resist! I also splurged on a diaper caddy, which I can carry all over the house. It’ll come in handy, since we chose not to have a change table.

And this is my favourite part of the room:

It’s the craft I worked so hard on for so long. I matched the colours as best I could to the fabrics I chose and actually mimicked the flower pattern in the curtains on the ‘O’ and ‘L’ canvases. It turned out brilliantly!

This was also mine as a baby, a gift when I was born. I’ve had it hanging in my room my entire life but now it’s time to pass it along to our daughter:

And here’s a shot of the crib skirt I made (with my mom’s help…measuring around the crib when you’re uber preggers is not an easy feat!):

The great part is that as the mattress is lowered, it’ll just touch the ground on the lowest setting. I plan on making a pillow out of this striped fabric for the chair.

I just love how everything turned out! It’s bright and feminine, without being super girly (I’m not a bows and ruffles kind of girl).

Now all we need is the baby to complete the look ๐Ÿ™‚

11 Comments leave one →
  1. K.Smitty permalink
    July 25, 2012 8:02 am

    I absolutely love it! I have to confess I’ve been leaning towards the pink and green myself if we have a girl. I adore all the handmade and personal touches….simply sweet! Great work!

  2. July 25, 2012 8:09 am

    So nice. It looks like something out of a magazine! Wonderful job!

  3. July 25, 2012 9:38 am

    Amazing job Chrissie! It looks professionally styled ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. July 26, 2012 12:29 am

    Beautiful! The only advice I’d add is to put lots of snacks in the side table next to the chair. I found myself STARVING all the time when I was breastfeeding (or attempting to) and wouldn’t want to get up. So I put granola bars, triscuts, wheat thins, whatever makes you happy!

  5. A Miracle In the Works permalink
    July 26, 2012 8:42 am

    Gorgeous! Molly is a lucky girl ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. July 26, 2012 7:02 pm

    Oh I just saw this post and I love it!! OMG did you hand paint the MOLLY? Great job! So sweet.

Leave a Reply

