Skip to content

Getting Ready for Baby: Food Prep!

July 18, 2012

Despite the fact that this is my first baby, I’m incredibly aware of the ‘new baby fog’ I’m likely to enter after Molly is born. Not only do I have gads of friends who have had babies, but I’ve seen my sister post-new babies twice now and know that it takes a bit of time to catch your bearings.

I’m going to let my friends and family help when they can, but wanted to do what I could in advance to prepare for Molly’s arrival. Since a major part of our daily lives is food, I decided to make meals in advance. Specifically, I wanted to prepare meals for the slow cooker that I could freeze and then pop in to cook from frozen. And so that’s what I spent yesterday doing! It was disgustingly hot out, and I didn’t feel even a little bit bad for not spending any time outdoors in the sun. Just a couple of minutes in the heat is enough to throw off my body temperature for hours! (No word of a lie…I went to get the mail around 4pm yesterday, which takes me a minute round trip and I was still hot well into the evening!).

I came across prepared slow cooker recipes about a month ago on Pinterest and they caught my attention. Nutritious and tasty sounding, I chose the following (click to link to recipes):

Healthy Mama BBQ Chicken

Stephanie’s Goulash (The beets I used were from our garden!)

Chicken Curry

Teriyaki Chicken

(Note: I wish I’d taken photos of the process, but it was quite messy and I didn’t want my camera getting dirty).

Each recipe is designed to provide two slow cooker meals. I shopped for all the ingredients on Monday, and we already had large size freezer bags. I gathered my ingredients and got to work.

Sitting at the kitchen table (I can’t stand for very long without my back aching), I started with the vegetables, working though each recipe, putting the required veggies into freezer bags.

Then I added the protein content, and finally the sauce mixtures. Two and a half hours later, I was done! I made sure to label each package with the cooking instructions and what to serve it with (ie. rice, noodles).

Eight meals in total that I can just toss into the slow cooker on high or low (depending on when I remember to start dinner), that will save me time, energy and most importantly, stress!

Goulash on the left and Healthy BBQ Chicken on the right

Another step I’ve taken to prepare meals in advance was to buy some extra meat (pork chops and chicken) from Costco that I separated into freezer bags and added marinades. When I pull them out of the freezer to thaw, they’ll marinate nicely during the thawing process and will be all ready to cook (in the oven or on the BBQ)!

Also, being on maternity leave is giving me ample time to make proper dinners, which have been sorely lacking over the past few months. I’m making enough of each dish to freeze leftovers for lunches and dinners. I’m personally not a huge fan of leftovers, but if I’m in the midst of dealing with a new baby, I have a feeling I’m not going to care that much 🙂 I’ll just be happy not to have to do a lot of cooking for awhile.

Eventually I know we’ll get into a good pattern/routine and I’ll get back into homemaker mode (which I’m absolutely LOVING this week by the way), but I’m not superwoman and don’t want to worry about trying to be for the first little while.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2012 9:55 am

    You are a smart mama for getting your freezer stocked and not relying on friends! Congrats on your pregnancy!

    • July 18, 2012 10:11 am

      Thanks, and thanks for posting the recipes! I can’t wait to try them (if baby let’s me…they always want to feed during supper time, don’t they?)!

  2. A Miracle In the Works permalink
    July 18, 2012 11:30 am

    Awesome! I was totally going to do this too but ran out of time 😉

    That’s a great use of pre-baby time!!

  3. July 18, 2012 4:13 pm

    God love you Chrissie! You’re going to be so well organized!

Leave a Reply

