Skip to content

Naming our Daughter

July 10, 2012

Most of you who follow this blog though my personal Facebook account, or know me in person, are most likely already aware of the name we’ve chosen for our baby girl.

But for some reason I’ve been reluctant to share it here, as I feel an explanation is in order as to why we chose it. I just haven’t been ready to do that yet, because the reason we chose it has some emotional ties.

We were shocked when we found ourselves pregnant last June. It definitely wasn’t planned 🙂 But shock gave way to excitement and as things usually go, we started talking about names. We were convinced it was a girl, me in particular with the knowledge of when we most likely conceived and the theory that girl spermies swim slower but last longer than boy spermies, who are fast but die sooner (I’m sure there’s a joke in there somewhere). We went back and forth for a little while, suggesting names but not really certain any of them was the one. And then we found it. The perfect name for our potential daughter. I can’t remember who it was that said it first, but we were both instantly in love with it and it was settled!

But then a couple of weeks later the worst happened when we lost our baby. To honor the memory of what might have been, we decided to put that name aside and not use it for our other children. At the time it seemed too painful.

Fast forward to last fall when we were actively trying to get pregnant. The months that had passed since our loss had healed us and when we found ourselves with the very real possibility that we were pregnant again, the issue of names came up again.

We were useless with boys names. Every now and then one of us would just blurt one out, which the other quickly shot down (thrilled btw to be having a girl. We never did settle on a boys name). Girl names were better but we still kept coming back to that one we fell in love with.

I think it was me who broached the idea of putting it back into play, and after a bit of thought, the two of us decided that it felt right. We were moving forward and wanted to give that name a positive meaning.

When we found out we were having a girl, it just seemed like it was meant to be.

And so, in a few short weeks, A and I will be introducing you to our daughter:

Molly

It’s been a year since we miscarried but despite that pain, this past year has been the most joyful of my life. That joy will soon be multiplied by infinite numbers when we welcome Molly into the world and begin the next phase in our lives…together, as a family.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. K.Smitty permalink
    July 10, 2012 9:19 am

    I LOVE the name! I think it’s so cute! Sadly, I wasted 2 cute names on my dogs and Molly is one of them. I hate to be the one that says “that’s my dog’s name!” But I guess I want to show you that I loved it so much, I couldn’t even wait until I had a kid to use it. She is so blessed to have you guys as parents and I cannot wait to see how cute little Molly is sure to be! Xo

  2. A Miracle In the Works permalink
    July 10, 2012 9:41 am

    Yay! I can’t wait for Molly to come into the world and for us to meet her! Molly is a gorgeous name 🙂

  3. July 10, 2012 10:39 am

    I love Molly. I think it’s an adorable name and the emotional tie is even sweeter. She was named after her big sister 🙂 Hope you are doing well!

  4. July 10, 2012 11:53 pm

    I think it’s great that you brought the name back since you both love it so much!

Leave a Reply

