Skip to content

Friday Ramblings

June 22, 2012

I’ve been meaning to post practically every day this week, but things have been busy!! This is a very baby-centric Friday ramblings…

On The Baby…

I am 34 weeks today! Six weeks left (or there abouts) of this adventure that is pregnancy. It’s been tough this week, with the temps sky rocketing into the low 40’s with the humidex, to stay comfortable. The rest of my pregnancy is going to be interesting!

On Other People’s Babies…

Huge congratulations to Michelle, whose blog I follow over at A Miracle In The Works She gave birth to a baby girl yesterday, six weeks early (her original due date was a day after me). Both mom and baby are doing well! My thoughts and prayers are with her and her new family.

On Strategic Planning: Breast Feeding…

I’m a planner. And when I’m faced with a new challenge, I’m also a researcher. The more I’m armed with information, the better I feel about the unknown. So when A’s cousin S asked if I would like to go to a La Leche League meeting with her, to learn more about breast feeding, I jumped at the opportunity! As a first time mom who plans to breast feed, I don’t want to go in blind.
Wednesday night S picked me up and off we went. I wasn’t sure what to expect. Over the years I’ve heard stories about LLL, where women are militant about breast feeding and try and force their views on you. And I’m sure those women exist out there, but I’m happy to report that the group I was a part of wasn’t like that at all! The impression I left with was that they were there to help. All they want to do is encourage you to keep trying and help solve any problems you may have. If I had felt any pressure at all I wouldn’t want to go back, but I left with a good feeling that I’ve found a great source of comfort as I become a first time mom.
In addition to LLL, I’ve signed A and I up for a couples breast feeding class at the hospital where we’ll give birth. Several couples in our birthing classes recommend it and I love the idea of A being involved. I’m so lucky that he’s pro-breast feeding, even more than me it seems sometimes, and it’ll be helpful for him to learn what I do. The only problem is that the next available spot is on August 2nd, which is the day before my due date :-)….but then I have this feeling our little miss is going to take her sweet time arriving, so I’m not overly concerned. If we miss it, we miss it. It’s free, so there is no money lost if we do.

On The Nursery…

At some point in the next couple of weeks, we’ll start painting. And last night we picked up our crib! It’s in it’s box in our front hall for now, but I feel good having it so that as soon as the room is ready, we can put it together. Yahoo! The only major thing we need now is our chair, but I’m hoping we’ll be able to order that at some point this weekend. We’ve chosen this one from Babies R Us:

It’s the Shermag Glider with Footrest. We’ve both tried it and find it comfortable. I love the look of it (we’ll get it in the chocolate brown, so that it’ll fit with our other furniture in the future) and it has a high back so I can rest my head back while rocking the baby. And at $400, it doesn’t break the bank (we were looking at some others in similar styles that were like $800!).

On The Weekend…

This weekend the focus around our casa will be the basement. My dad put up a few sheets of drywall the other day, so that process has begun and it looks amazing!! A’s dad will be arriving tomorrow morning to help out (soooo grateful for his help) and my three handy men will be hard at work for most of the weekend.

A and I will be taking off late morning tomorrow to pick up my niece and take her to BFF B’s son’s faux b-day party. His real b-day is in August, but as many summer birth kids do, she’s having a little party for him now so his school friends can come. Her little guy, J, and my niece are so cute! Can’t wait to see what B has planned!

And other than that, I’ll be doing some gardening (though not in the middle of the day) and laundry (at my mom’s…our washer/dryer are disconnected until the basement is done) and other household chores. Lots to do, as always.

Happy Friday everyone!

One Comment leave one →
  1. A Miracle In the Works permalink
    June 24, 2012 12:02 pm

    Thanks for the love!!! Xoxo

Leave a Reply

