Skip to content

Nursery Inspiration: Decoration

June 13, 2012

I’ve been gathering pictures and wall decoration for the baby’s room for awhile. Some I’ve bought, some have been crafted (including my own craft, which is almost done!). Here are a couple of my faves so far:

This one started with this link that my friend L sent me just after I got engaged. I loved it so much, we decided to do it at our wedding. The idea is to have a bare tree printed out on paper and provide green ink for your guests to impress their thumb print as leaves on the tree.

The cost was minimal. The biggest expense was the 16 x 20 frame (from Michael’s) for $30. It was a challenge finding the right ink that didn’t leave one’s fingers green for hours on end. I ended up using a set of Crayola watercolours I found at Michael’s for only $6 that had four or five different shades of green. I just put out a wet sponge for people to dab their thumb on, and then they could rub it on a palette of green paint and press it on a branch. Wipes removed the excess paint from their thumbs.

I thought it was a brilliant project for my wedding guests, and after thinking about it decided it would be absolutely perfect in the baby’s room. It’s like a little part of all the people we love and care for will be in the room with her, encouraging her to grow and flourish.

Love it!

And then there’s this one:

I bought this print from a shop on Etsy (the frame is from Michael’s). It perfectly sums up how much I love our little munchkin. The brilliant thing about this print is that you can choose the colours you want to use! Since I’m going with greens and pinks in her room, that’s what I went with. And it didn’t break the bank either. It came all the way from Australia and I think I only paid about $25 CAD for the print and shipping.

Because we’ve chosen white furniture, I’m keeping that consistent with the colour of the frames. My goal is for her room to be bright and colourful. So far so good!

More to come on decorating. I have a few other ideas up my sleeve…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2012 10:52 am

    I love the thumbprint art! Can’t wait to see the nursery in its entirety!

    • June 13, 2012 11:06 am

      Haha, me too! I have all these bits and pieces scattered about the house. Once the basement is finished a bit more we’ll be able to shuffle around some furniture and start putting it together πŸ™‚

  2. June 21, 2012 12:07 am

    I did the thumbprint tree for father’s day this year and I got our frame from michael’s too! We ended up making an apple tree πŸ™‚ It’s such a great idea. love it! yours turned out beautifully.

Leave a Reply

