Skip to content

Combo Post

June 12, 2012

A combo post! Better late than never! We had our birthing class last night and I didn’t have any time to write, what with watching two women give birth (wasn’t horrible) and then practicing labour positions ourselves (didn’t really find one that worked for me, but then I’m not in labour yet).

Weekend Wind-Up

Friday was something of a write-off, as Friday’s are want to be. We did a bit of window shopping, then stopped to pick up a pizza before heading home to watch Journey 2: The Mysterious Island. It was a decent movie. Disney. The Rock. Fantasy. A Pec Dance. Yup, a pec dance, courtesy of Mr. Dwayne Johnston himself. Quite funny!

Saturday was something of a puttering day. We did this and that around the house: cleaning, laundry, clearing out the cars. I did a bit of organizing of my baby shower gifts (note to self: pick up thank you cards). A managed to mow the lawn before a torrential downpour hit and I had a mid-afternoon massage. And then it was time to head out for a b-day dinner for my mom! There were seven of us altogether, including my niece and nephew. Unfortunately (or rather fortunately since I don’t want to share the love) my brother-in-law couldn’t make it. He’s come down with a hideous virus that just won’t go away! Poor guy ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

On Sunday my dad came over early to help A with the basement. They’re just about to start dry walling! Very exciting to see it all coming together. While they worked downstairs, I was busy upstairs working on my craft for the baby’s room. I’m so happy with how it’s turning out and can’t wait to share it with you (but not yet…not ’til it’s finished!). My mom came over at lunch time and she helped me figure out how to sew the curtains I want to make for the baby’s room. I hope to get started on those this week. Mom and I vegged for the rest of the afternoon, watching Harry Potter (the first one…they were so young!) until our men-folk were ready for supper, which was another glam meal of pizza! We love our pizza ๐Ÿ™‚

And that’s really it. Nothing spectacular and unfortunately way too short.

32 Weeks!

How Far Along? โ€“ 32 weeks. Good lord. (cue hysterical laughter)

Size of Baby โ€“I’m thinking her weight is close to 5 pounds now, if not already.

Gender โ€“ Itโ€™s a girl!!

Picture

No pic this week kids, there just hasn’t been an opportunity to take one.

Maternity Clothes โ€“ Ugh. Nothing fits! Well they do fit but I feel like nothing looks good. I suppose I should expect that from now on.

Stretch Marks โ€“ Not yetโ€ฆI moisturize daily! Fingers crossed!

Weight โ€“ As of yesterday morning, 35 pounds have been gained. Now, according to the books, the average for someone of my build and height should be 25-35 lbs gained in total for your whole pregnancy, but that’s just not realistic. I’ve got a tiny bit extra around my hips and thighs, but nothing substantial. The reality is that I have a lot of fluid retention and am growing a giant baby (well, not really, but I am measuring a week ahead). Weight gain has slowed a bit though. Or maybe I’m just imagining that…

Sleep โ€“ It comes and goes. I consistently wake up at least twice a night. I’m waking up with a lot more pain in my hips these days which isn’t fun.

Movement โ€“Baby had a relaxing weekend, with just slight, gradual movements but is taking this week by storm! I feel like she’s trying to get out of my belly, what with all the shoving and pushing she’s doing.

Symptoms โ€“ Ligament pain, hip pain, insomnia, fatigue, slight swelling of the ankles and legs, my rear end issue (there but not painful right now). I’m constantly hot. My poor hubby wakes up in the morning cold, because in addition to the AC, I also have a fan going in our room. And yet, I’m still hot! Loving the fact that the hair on my legs is slow to grow. Helpful since it’s becoming increasingly difficult to shave my own legs…

Cravings โ€“Nada. In fact lately I’ve found myself trying to feel like eating. Oh I’m hungry, but just not in the mood for anything in particular. Maybe it’s the heat?

What Do I Miss โ€“ Walking fast, moving comfortably, beer (especially on these hot days we’ve been having).

Nursery โ€“I’m doing some organizing of shower gifts. I washed all the baby wash cloths and towels and blankets I received and put them away. We moved the dresser I painted into the nursery, and moved the old dresser that was in there out. I’m working diligently on my craft for her room, and will get started on the curtains this week. It’ll all come together lickety split once we’re able to move out the existing furniture and paint. I’ll have all the components ready to go!

Emotions โ€“Just grand! Other than being tired, I’m emotionally sound ๐Ÿ™‚

Best Moment of the Week โ€“The best moment is baby-related, just not to my baby…at dinner on Saturday I spent a good 10 minutes entertaining my nephew, making him smile and laugh, something he’s just started doing (he’s just over two months). Nothing like a laughing baby! It occurred to me that in just a few short months we’ll be doing the same with our darling baby girl.

Awww ๐Ÿ™‚

5 Comments leave one →
  1. A Miracle In the Works permalink
    June 12, 2012 1:05 pm

    Love all the nesting! Can’t wait to see photos and see the final craft you are creating ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. June 12, 2012 2:17 pm

    Maternal fat stores are important for breastfeeding. As long as you are eating a balanced diet try not to worry about the weight. You will gain what your body needs to. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. June 15, 2012 10:49 am

    OMG my leg hair is growing slower too…already. I think. Totally weird, yet awesome. ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. 7 Weeks | Life Is Good Today

Leave a Reply

