Skip to content

Weekend Wind-Up

May 14, 2012

Last week was so busy, I was thrilled when Friday arrived. Friday evening my darling hubby was absorbed in a much deserved break on the computer (he’s been doing amazing work on the basement the past couple of weekends), so I did what any normal woman would do when her husband is otherwise occupied: I went shopping!

I was on the hunt for new t-shirts to fit my growing belly. I popped into Old Navy, but sadly our local store doesn’t have a maternity section. I did end up with a cute top though, very loose fitting with elastic around the bottom. It’ll fit me throughout the rest of my pregnancy!

Next I headed to Walmart, as I’ve heard they have a maternity section. At our store that ‘section’ is a whole two racks. I picked out a dress, a pair of capris, and two tank tops (one of which is more of a cami for wearing under things) and kept it at that. The dress was ok, but had these weird holes where the ties around the waist were that showed my skin. Not a fan. And the capris were just not comfortable at all. But the tanks fit, so I’ll keep those.

And lastly I went to Smart Set. Smart Set has always been my go-to t-shirt place. They don’t have maternity, but their shirts are long and so I picked up a couple of large-sized ones that will expand with me. I seem to prefer tighter fitting clothes anyways while pregnant. I feel like they contain my belly a bit more 🙂

Saturday morning we were up bright and early to head off to A’s parents for the rest of the weekend. We got there just before lunch and spent the rest of the afternoon hanging out on the deck chatting and catching up. The weather was amazing! I got my first (and hopefully only) sunburn of the season! I feel like it’s almost a right of passage in welcoming the summer months. From now on I’ll be a lot more careful. Not so fun to shower when your skin stings.

It was Mother’s Day yesterday. We’re not huge mother’s day celebrators in our family, mostly because I believe in treasuring my mom and what’s she’s been to us EVERY day, not just one day a year. I’m constantly reflecting on how lucky I am to have the parents that I do.

And doubly lucky now to have the in-laws that I do!

We had a little joint Mother’s Day/birthday celebration for A’s mom on Sunday after lunch and then we gathered ourselves together to head home. After a 1/2 hour walk around our ‘hood, the two of us settled in for a joint game of Civilization IV. We haven’t played in awhile and I forgot how fun it was! I was actually a little later than normal going to bed because I was determined to win the war I was waging on a neighbouring country 🙂 I managed to conquer four out of five enemy cities before fatigue took over!

And here we are on Monday, with another busy week ahead of me! I’ll be working late most evenings, which is too bad, but actually works out since I have to leave early on Friday for my bi-weekly OB appointment (which should have been earlier this week but I’m too busy!).

It’s a long weekend this weekend, but we’re not going anywhere! Instead we’re going to focus on getting our vegetable garden ready (weather permitting) and I’m going to try and do some prep work for the baby’s room. I need to clear out the closet in there 🙂

Hopefully I’ll be able to check in again before then, but if I don’t, have a great week everyone!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

