Skip to content

Weekend Wind-Up

April 16, 2012

And I think I’m finally back on the blogging track!

This weekend was great, though it could have been longer. Way to much to do around our casa for a measly two days off!

Friday night we popped up to White Feather Farms for a few things. And discovered it’s the absolute best time to go! We usually go on the weekend and it’s jam-packed. But Friday evenings? We got there about 1/2 hour before closing and wondered if the place was even open. Two cars in the parking lot! Two. We easily found what we needed, without having to navigate around tons of people and it was bliss! To celebrate we bought a homemade cheese strudel. Ok, so it wasn’t to celebrate, I just wanted it, but man, was it ever good!

I honestly can’t remember what we did after that…we went home, that much is obvious, but what we did there eludes me. I’m thinking some sort of TV watching took place.

I spent Saturday morning doing some tidying up around the house, which is easier said than done these days. We’re clearing out the basement to get ready for renos and what was down there has now taken up residence wherever there is space upstairs. I’m not a fan of the clutter and disorganization, but hopefully it won’t be for too long.

Early afternoon A and I decided to take a trip up to Richter’s Herbs. If you live in or around Toronto, enjoy growing things and have never been to Richter’s, you’re missing out! They specialize in culinary and medicinal herbs and grow the most beautiful, healthy plants I’ve ever seen! We picked up some Genovese Basil (which I’ll grow indoors until the weather gets consistently warmer) and Alpine Strawberries, which I’ve planted in a hanging basket and put outside already (they deal well with cooler weather).

Fingers crossed the birds won’t be tempted and I’ll get a good crop! We also picked up some vegetable seeds. I think I’ll be able to put in my early spring crops this weekend! Broccoli, kale, peas and beets. Yum!

Then we headed over to my sister’s to have a quick visit. CK is growing by the day and has changed so much in a week! He’s two weeks old today! CJ is being an amazing big sister. She’s so gentle with her baby brother and loves helping to change him etc.

A and I headed home to a dinner of pork tenderloin and roasted vegetables, and again, I’ve completely blanked on what we did that night. I think I remember watching episodes of the New Girl, which we both found to be really funny. I managed to stay up until almost 11pm!! I’m wild and crazy, I know 😉

Sunday I got up and puttered until BFF B arrived. We had ourselves a lovely girl date, puttering around the shops, looking at fabric and books. We were out for a good few hours and had a grand time, as we always do. There’s a reason she’s my BFF 🙂

Speaking of fabric, I’ve found some I like for the baby’s room, but only online. So far I’ve found a US site that will ship it here, but am keeping my eye out for a Canadian one to try and avoid customs charges.

These first two I found on Fabric.Com. They’re both by Michael Miller.

This one I envision as curtains. I love how fun the flowers are and the colours are perfect!

This one is adorable (cupcakes, teapots, strawberries and butterflies! How can you not love it?) and I was thinking of using it as one side of a quilt, perhaps with the flowers above as a border and then a coordinating pink backing.

And this one is from Tonic Living, a Toronto based site, but also a Michael Miller design. I would love to use it for the crib skirt, and also as an edging for the curtains (on the inside I think).

They’re all decently priced, around $8-10/yard, and all work really well together, but again, I need to think about the customs charges. Next step is to figure out how much of what I’ll actually need.

And that’s the weekend wind-up! Here’s hoping this week goes by quickly!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2012 7:19 pm

    I love all of those patterns! The green/light pink/dark pink seems to be popular these days. At this point, I don’t even entertain the thought that it’s overdone. Even though I’m not even pregnant yet, I LOVE this color scheme. Can’t wait to see when it’s finished!

  2. April 17, 2012 9:56 am

    The store Mac Fab carries Michael Miller – https://www.macfabfabrics.com/ . They are on Queen East by Broadview.

Leave a Reply

