Skip to content

Nursery Inspiration: Colour

March 22, 2012

When I hit the three month mark, I gave myself the go-ahead to start thinking about decorating the nursery.  I’m not overly big on themes. No frogs or penguins or nursery rhymes etc. for me. But colour? I LOVE colour and pulling together different things to create a space.

Through Pinterest, I found this really cool site called Design Seeds. They take a picture and create a palette of colours that work well together from the colours in the picture.

I’ve found two that I really like, and luckily A likes as well, that will most likely be our inspiration for our baby’s nursery, one for a boy, one for a girl

Gender update: I called my OB’s office to see if the radiologists report was in yet, but no such luck. I have a feeling they’re waiting until I have my follow up ultrasound to see the heart and will send the report after that. Fingers crossed the munchkin cooperates on Tuesday!

Here are the palettes we like:

The top one would be for a boys room, the bottom for a girl. They’re bright and fun, just as we like.

Our goal is to paint the room a fairly gender neutral tone and then accent with more gender specific colours. In both palettes, there is a light aqua colour we’ll most likely go with for the wall colour. That way, when we have a second baby, we won’t have to paint again, but if it’s a different sex can flip the accents easily enough. It’s also a good plan just in case we aren’t able to find out the sex. If that’s the case, we’ll do all but the accents and do those after the baby is born 🙂

Fun times!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2012 10:29 am

    Love them both!

  2. March 22, 2012 1:04 pm

    Awesome site! Love both palettes…great choices.

Leave a Reply

