Skip to content

The Baby and The Boob

March 11, 2012

Elphaba, the came up with the idea of the PAIL network, has come up with another fabulous idea to have a monthly topic of conversation. She’ll gather the posts written about the topic and then post links to them on her site for everyone to read. This topic for this month is breastfeeding.

Though I’m still pregnant and have yet to actually experience breastfeeding, it’s something I’ve thought a lot about, and actually read about too (I’m big on research!). I’ve always known I would want to breastfeed my babies, but I’m not fanatical about it. If women don’t breastfeed for whatever reason, I in no way judge them. It is essential as mothers to support each others decisions and not make others feel bad for doing something differently. If for whatever reason I end up not nursing, I’m not going to beat myself up over it, as long as I know I tried.

I fully intend on giving it my very best effort and have the full support of my husband (tee hee! I love saying that) in doing it. I know it’s not always an easy and fluid process and I’m prepared for that. I’ve been reading a lot about it and have actually been researching local breastfeeding clinics I can attend if I need help and advice. I’m also lucky to have plenty of women in my life who have had ample experience with nursing I can turn to for tips.

A and I have talked about how long I’ll potentially nurse our children and I’m aiming for at least a year. I’m super lucky to live in Canada where I will get a year of maternity leave at 55% pay (sadly, no top up for me!). We’ve also talked about me pumping and introducing the bottle early on. Initially I wasn’t a huge fan of the bottle feeding idea, but A has mentioned that he would like to have the experience of feeding our baby too, and so I’m going to give that a try. Maybe it’ll let me get more sleep or let the both of us get out of the house if the grandparents want to babysit! Because it’s important for him to be involved, pump I will, as soon as it’s appropriate.

It’s important to me that A and I discuss together the care and well being of our children. I want us to talk about issues ahead of time; we’ve already talked about sleep training! I’m incredibly lucky that he’s supportive of me nursing our kids and I’m thrilled he wants to be involved. I’ve read some women’s comments on forums where their significant others are not for it at all and I think that’s just sad.

I suppose once I have this baby and actually start the process of nursing, I’ll have more to say on it. But for now, I’m excited about our plans and hope to give it my all!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2012 10:54 am

    Best of luck to you! I love BFing and it’s worked out great for us.

    FYI – you definitely want to get your supply set before starting pumping. I started pumping at 3 1/2 weeks and we gave my daughter a bottle about 2 days later. For me, at least, it was important to my sanity (and eventually for my work schedule) that she be able to take a bottle and the boob interchangeable. Otherwise you will NEVER get a night off. My husband really enjoys being able to feed her here and there (and I get to have a cpl drinks, go to a longer yoga class, whatever). You’ll figure out what works best for you!

Trackbacks

  1. PAIL: March Theme Post–On Matters of the Boob | Yolk: A blog about eggs and sperm

Leave a Reply

