Skip to content

Wedding Wind-Up

March 8, 2012

Well kids, it’s official! I’m a married woman!! I’ll post some pics as soon as I can (and as soon as I get some and get the go ahead from my photographer to post them), but in the meantime, here’s a rundown of our weekend wedding extravaganza!

Friday I was up bright and early. A went to work, so I was awake when he was. Plus, I had to pack and start working on my speech πŸ™‚ Shortly before 10am, I headed off to get a massage. It was bliss! I was home by 11 to pick up my mother-in-law and BFF B and we all headed off to pick up my dress! It fit like a dream, despite the fact that I was 18 weeks pregnant. You couldn’t see my bump at all!

We dropped the dress off at my parents, had quick bite to eat, and then the three of us continued on to the spa for manicures and pedicures. I chose a lovely deep rose for my toes and nails, and I’m happy to say I kept it fresh and chip-free throughout the next day! When we were finished we headed home and started getting ourselves ready for the rehearsal. A came home early and at 4:30 we headed to the rehearsal.

The rehearsal itself was a bit chaotic, but how else can it be with three toddlers, one of whom (my niece) was quite grumpy and kept chanting ‘Go…Go…Go…’. She wanted out of there! It didn’t bode well for the actual wedding ceremony that she was so upset, but I knew going in that a two year old would be unpredictable πŸ™‚

After the rehearsal we went to dinner, where we met up with some of my family members who had flown in from Newfoundland and Bermuda for the wedding! The food was excellent, and so was the company but at 9:30 I found myself getting tired and ready to head out.

I was staying at my parents, and A was going to tuck me in, so everyone headed back there. I got ready for bed, and my love tucked me in for the last time as single-tons. I really missed him lying next to me but confess I didn’t have any trouble getting to sleep. I thank being pregnant for that!

I was awake bright and early on Saturday morning, our wedding day. 6am and I was wide awake! How did I feel? Absolutely fine. I was calm and relaxed and not nervous at all! I finished my speech and then hunger took over so I headed downstairs for a leisurely breakfast. Our hair appointments were for 10am, which gave me plenty of relaxing time. I even had a catnap while my mom showered and we waited for my sister!

Sidenote: the weather that day called for rain/snow and wet snow, but mother nature was looking out for me and the worst we had to deal with was incredibly strong winds. But that’s what scarves are for!

I was quite shocked at how calm I actually was and continued to be throughout the day. Everyone at the salon kept asking me how I was doing and I could honestly say just great! I felt really, really good and watching my hair and make up come together just as I’d imagined helped keep me feeling fabulous!

At 12:30 we were all finished at the salon and headed back to my parents where pizza was ordered for us girls. Our flowers arrived around 2pm and were just gorgeous! They were stunning. Bright orange and pink gerbera daisy’s and roses, the perfect combination of fun and elegance. At the same time, my photographer called to say she was early and offered to come by and get pictures of me getting ready, which was amazing. It wasn’t really important to me to have those, but having seen some of the shots she took, I’m really glad she was able to do that.

We started getting ready shortly after 2pm. My parents, me, my sister and BFF B were soon joined by CJ, who was ecstatic to be wearing a princess dress! She was in a great mood…fingers were crossed she stayed that way!

The limo arrived at 3ish, having already dropped my groom and his wedding party off at the ceremony site. I donned my cape, which thankfully had a hood to protect my hair from the wind and off we went! We made it to the ceremony site (which I now feel comfortable sharing was Trafalgar Castle in Whitby, ON) shortly before 4pm and headed into the chapel.

Again, I was feeling super calm. A little emotional, because I was about to marry the love of my life, but not nervous at all. Just after 4pm the music cued and my bridal party started their entrance. BFF B went first, followed by the kids (A’s niece A, BFF B’s little guy J and CJ). Miracle of miracles, CJ, when prompted by my sister if she wanted to go with A and J, actually went! They must have been adorable, but I didn’t get a chance to see them, as my music cued andΒ  I entered the chapel on my father’s arm.

Walking down the aisle I was conscious of the people there, but my eyes were on A. He looked so dashing in his tux and I couldn’t wait to reach him! After what seemed like ages, we finally reached the front and the ceremony began. It wasn’t a blur, but it went by a lot faster than I expected. In what seemed like a short amount of time, we were married! I almost broke down when we said our vows, but pulled it together. Luckily I’d stashed some tissues down the front of my dress πŸ™‚

Part way through the ceremony, I had a surprise visitor. What I didn’t know at the time because I was lost in A’s eyes and what our officiant was saying, was that CJ, who had been standing with my sister, had been tugging on the back of my dress calling my name. ‘Kissie’ she kept saying, ‘An’ Kissie’. I faintly recall hearing her but ignored her until she popped up next to me. She had been very concerned that I didn’t have my bouquet with me (I’d given it to my sister) and insisted on giving it to me πŸ™‚ What a doll! I thanked her and then went on with the business of getting married!

We had our first kiss as man and wife and then signed the registry. We were announced as man and wife and slowly made our way back down the aisle! Yippee! We were having our pictures taken at the Castle, and whisked ourselves away to have that done. What a gorgeous venue for pictures! It’s a very old building, the part we were in built in the early 1800’s. Right up my historic alley! Our photographer worked her magic (I’ve known her for years) and in just over an hour we were ready to head to the party!

Our reception was held at the Ajax Convention Centre in Ajax, ON. It was amazing and I can’t exclaim enough how amazing the staff were there! While we were having our photos done, a cocktail reception started for our guests. By the time we got there, we had a few minutes to gather ourselves and enjoy some hors d’oeuvres before it was time for our grand entrance!

Our parents and the bridal party went first, and then it was our turn. We chose to do our first dance right away (our song was Undisclosed Desires by Muse), and walked in to the opening part of it. Our dance lessons paid off! It went really well! My dad took a bit of video which I’ve watched and we looked awesome. Yay!

From there we started dinner service. We had butternut squash soup and then a roast vegetable salad as starters. For the entrees our guests had a choice between a roast striploin or a breaded chicken. I had the chicken and it was so yummy! Dessert was an option between cheesecake with strawberry sauce or a chocolate pyramid (cheesecake was my choice!). The food was amazing!

Throughout the meals, we had speeches. A’s parents, my parents, A’s best man, R, and then my sister, all said such lovely words! I laughed, I cried. It was perfect. When it was time for A and I to speak, he went first. And of course made me cry. I was choked up during my own speech, but made it through without a major breakdown πŸ™‚

And then it was time to party! Our DJ was amazing. He really paid attention to what music we wanted and what our guests requested. Everyone had a great time!

Around 11:30 though, I started to crash. I was starting to feel a cramp in the side of my left ribs that was quite uncomfortable. So we started to gather ourselves together to head out. It didn’t even occur to me until the next morning to have our last dance, but I was really miserable at that point. A and I headed over to our hotel room, which was blissfully a 30 second walk from the convention centre. The second he loosened my dress (I had a lace-up back) I felt instant relief! Whew.

Since a lot of our guests were staying at the hotel, the next morning my parents hosted a breakfast for anyone who was still around. It was laid back, with people showing up when they were ready. We had our last goodbyes and then left for home. We had a bit of packing still to do before heading out on our honeymoon….which will be a post in itself! This one is already super long.

We got back on Tuesday and I’m spending the rest of this week organizing our house; putting gifts away, doing laundry etc. Again, I’ll try and post pics as soon as I can!

Hope you all had a great weekend! I know I did πŸ™‚

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2012 9:41 am

    Oh yay and congrats again! It sounds like your wedding was simply amazing and I can’t be happier for you! I love how you said you were so calm…so was I! I hope it’s a sign that your marriage will be full of happiness and bliss. Everything sounded so beautiful and I’m excited for you that your dress fit so well! πŸ™‚

  2. March 8, 2012 1:21 pm

    Sounds like it was an amazing day! I wish I had written a complete breakdown of the day after my wedding. What a great idea!

Leave a Reply

