Skip to content

Weekend Wind-Up

February 6, 2012

On Friday after work, A picked me up from the train and we headed out to meet some of his work colleagues for a going away party for one of his peeps. In true A and C fashion, we tucked ourselves away at a table and chatted with each other, but to be fair I was absolutely famished and needed to eat before I could even consider being social! I scarfed down a salad made with field greens, candied walnuts, baked goat cheese and a raspberry vinaigrette before moving onto my main course of linguine with chicken and sun dried tomatoes in a pesto cream sauce.

Yum!

We didn’t stay too long, since Fridays are never good for me even when I’m not pregnant, and headed home to watch a movie. Some months ago we ordered Idiocracy from Chapters but for some reason had never gotten around to even opening the package it arrived in, so we busted that out. A had seen it, but it was my first time. I thought it was quite clever and funny!

Saturday was low key, with household chores and a few errands out and about. At around 4pm my niece CJ arrived for her very first sleepover! I threw her a pizza party (she LOVES parties!). Earlier in the day I made pizza dough from my Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day book, and holy crap, did it ever turn out amazing! For CJ I broke off a small piece and had her help ‘dress’ it with sauce and cheese (she’s so totally related to me…you should have seen the pile of cheese she put on there! I had to take some off before popping it into the oven). She practically inhaled it!

Ours was a bit different, with pepperoni, bacon and grilled red peppers (and yes, cheese). It was fantastic! I froze the rest of the dough in three batches to be used again in the future.

As instructed, I lay down for a 'sleepy' and CJ proceeded to give me toys to sleep with 🙂

We had a bit of play time and then it was time for bed. Or so I thought. CJ had other ideas. As smart as she is, she is only two and I think she was a bit confused as to why she was sleeping at our house. She eventually went to sleep (with us in our bed so she wouldn’t wake up in a strange room), but was awake again at 1am and didn’t settle back down until 4! Again, she was confused and upset and wanting her mommy, so I sat up comforting her.

One thing I discovered that night? We are totally shelling out the $$ for a good rocking chair for the nursery. The one we want is pricy, but has a high back, crucial for me with my issue with neck strain and tension headaches.

CJ woke up after a bit of a sleep in and had survived the night just fine! She was a bit grumpy, but after a bit of food she happily helped me make pancakes for breakfast and then set about trasnforming herself into a princess by putting on all (ALL) of my beaded necklaces (they were my mom’s from the sixties and seventies).

My sister arrived to pick her up mid-morning and then A and I went about the rest of our day….doing absolutely nothing! I fit in an afternoon nap and then we were off to my parents for supper. We got home around 7ish and sat down to watch In Time with Justin Timberlake. It was actually a pretty good movie, with an interesting premise, that time is a currency and if you run out you die. You basically work to live. JT isn’t a horrible actor, though his crying scene made me want to laugh (and yet also cry at the same time because it was sad).

And that would be all folks! Hope everyone’s Monday started off their week nicely. The weather in Toronto was certainly cooperative! Close to 10 degrees (Celsius), blue skies and sun! Gorgeous!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2012 9:23 pm

    Idiocracy is one of those movies I think everyone should watch. Yes, it’s funny, but it is a little scary too if you ask me! Every now and them I get afraid that movie will “come true!” Hope not though….

    Your niece is adorable! Glad you had a nice time together 🙂

  2. February 7, 2012 9:36 am

    I know, it is scary! There are already people like that in the world.

Leave a Reply

