Skip to content

Exciting News!!

January 29, 2012

Ok, so.

Y’all have probably noticed a significant drop in posts over the past couple of months. No fun recipes to share, no crazy adventures in domesticity.

I recognize it’s been a bit boring, but I promise there’s a most excellent reason and I thank you all for sticking with me because things are about to get exciting again!!

A and I are expecting!!

That’s right kids, I’m pregnant!

I’m currently just over 13 weeks along and now feel comfortable announcing it to the world! I have had two ultrasounds and both showed the baby with it’s little heart beating away. At the last one (when I was at the hospital for the cyst), I actually got to see it’s little hands and feet! Adorable.

My due date (for now), is August 3rd, and yes, we will be finding out the sex 🙂

The first three months were a bit rough:

Physically, I was nauseous almost everyday from five weeks on. Thankfully that’s eased off now. But the fatigue! I’ve never been so tired in my entire life and that’s still sticking around. The fatigue/nausea combo is the reason for the boring posts. I have had no energy to do much of anything and no appetite to cook anything interesting. I’ve been on a diet of Kraft Dinner, perogies and pizza and I thank the Gods the baby’s nutrient needs were minimal during the early months.

Emotionally, I’ve been anxious. I haven’t really let myself hope that things would work out, because I couldn’t bare the drop from hope to despair if something were to happen. I’ve done everything in my power to ensure our baby was safe and give it the best chance for a healthy development, but didn’t really do much else. No books were read, no websites were visited. I kept it low key in order to save myself from the stress of worrying about the what if’s.

But now? NOW!!!???

WE’RE HAVING A BABY!!!!! YAHOOOOOO!!!!!

A has been a rock over the past few months. He’s been patient and understanding and really quite wonderful. I couldn’t be marrying a better guy 🙂

Speaking of marriage, you might be interested to know that we found out we were pregnant the morning after we got engaged. We suspected I might be but A wanted to propose before we took the test. How sweet is that? We’d always planned on a short engagement, no longer than six months, but the baby kind of moved things up a bit! I’d rather not be seven months pregnant getting married 🙂 My dress will cover any bump I have (and it’s getting bigger! I used to have a flat stomach that curved in…no longer!).

And I thought 2011 was the best year of my life….looks like 2012 is going to kick 2011’s ass!!

P.S. Since it’s been incredibly hard not writing about what’s been happening on According To C, I started a secret blog I call Flutters of Hope, that details my journey from when we decided to try and have a baby after recovering from our miscarriage. You are more than welcome to hop over there and take a look! I’ll be posting on According To C from now on though, about our baby adventures.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2012 8:36 pm

    THIS IS INCREDIBLE NEWS! I am so happy for you Chrissy 🙂 xx

    • January 30, 2012 10:58 am

      Thanks Becky!! Oh and I’ll be sending a thank you card, but thanks for the tea towels and oven mitts! I’ve had the same mitts for 10 years! It’ll be awesome to have some new ones 🙂

  2. January 30, 2012 8:49 am

    How so very exciting! 🙂 Can’t wait to hear how your bridal shower went too!

Leave a Reply

