Skip to content

Weekend Wind-Up

January 9, 2012

If I had one word to describe this weekend, it would be BUSY!!

Friday night we hit up the mall and did a little bit of shopping for A. There are some really amazing sales on right now, and for men’s clothes, which are normally so expensive, there were some great deals. Once we were shopped out, we stopped at the video store on our way home and rented Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World. We watched a good chunk of it, but fatigue kicked in for me at 9:30 (Fridays are never good for me) and I went to bed.

Saturday we were up bright and early to get going on some much needed house cleaning and laundry (speaking of….I think I may have left a load in the washer….oops), and then around 3:30 A’s parents arrived with his sister J! After a quick visit, we all headed over to my parents for our joint birthday dinner.

It was a fabulous dinner, as usual when cooked by my mom and I love that our families get along so well! The best moment of the night though was of course something that CJ said…

CJ: Where are you going An’ Kissie?

Me: I’m going to the bathroom.

CJ: I come!

Me: OK

In the bathroom…

CJ: (fiddling with the toilet paper, she breaks off a tiny piece and hands it to me) Here’s some tissue for your bum

Me: (trying not to laugh at the one inch strip) Thank you so much CJ, but I think I need a bit more.

CJ: Oh, ok!

She’s such a ham! Around 8ish we headed back to our place. A’s parents took his sister home then came back and stayed with us for the night. We watched a bit of hockey (the Leafs won!) and then hit the hay.

The next morning we got up and I made us Zucchini Chocolate Chip Pancakes, which were super tasty, and then A’s parents headed out. And then so did we! We had some errands to run, including me needing to renew the license plates on my car. We stopped in to make a few changes to our registry (one item had been discontinued) and to pick up my very first shower gift (thank you B.T!!), and then popped into Marks Work Warehouse to shop a bit for A.

He didn’t end up getting anything (he forgot the gift certificate he got for Christmas), but I did! I bought these:

Aren’t the cute? I’ve seen them in the stores for close to a year now but have never managed to find my size. The best part is that they were on sale! Originally priced at $69.99, they were marked down to $14.99!!! A-MAZE-ING.

Once our errands were done, it was home we went and I got to work on printing off the address labels for our invitations.

Oh. My. God.

Did I ever get frustrated! I wanted to add a picture to the left side of the large address label, to give it a bit of interest. But everything I added it, once the file saved (and it does it automatically after a few minutes whether I wanted to or not), it added a black border around three sides. So not cool!

I threw the labels when they printed off with the horrid border on them (they didn’t go far) and turned to Google to try and fix the problem. I finally figured out the issue, which was related to the formatting in Word 2007. But if you save in the 2003 format, the black lines don’t appear. Boo ya! A was a champ through the whole thing and handled me well. He gave me a hug and then brought me food 🙂

Despite that setback, I printed off all of the labels we needed, and A and I spent less than an hour affixing them to the envelopes. Stamps too! All we need to do now is stuff them with the invitations and RSVP cards (which we’re picking up after work today) and they’ll be ready to go!

And there you have our weekend! Jam packed! Oh, and we did finish watching Scott Pilgrim Vs The World. It was cute. Very different, but I loved that it was set in Toronto.

Happy Monday!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 9, 2012 11:49 am

    Oh goodness, getting labels to print the way you want them too in Word can be such a chore! Glad they turned out in the end. 🙂

Leave a Reply

