Skip to content

Weekend Wind-Up

December 12, 2011

Whew.

I’m pooped! What a busy weekend!!

Friday night A picked me up from the train and we went to meet up with some of his coworkers for a drink. We had a nice visit with them (shout out to P!! So nice to meet you!!), but we were sitting in the path of cigarette smoke coming in from the outside, and left after about an hour. Smoke. Bleh.

Saturday I was up bright and early to welcome my BFF B! We had an appointment at 10am with my mom and my sister to pick out bridesmaid dresses, but she wanted to see MY dress first and then we went out for breakfast for a good catch up.

We got to the bridal salon in good time, and started looking around. Since my sister is going to be just 9 months pregnant when we get married, I knew it was unlikely they could get the same dress, so I focused on them wearing the same colour. My flowers are going to be bright orange and fuscia with bright green accents, so I was leaning towards a neutral for the dress colour, but what happened next astounded me!

I chose pink!

My sister tried on a beautiful dress by Mori Lee. It’s chiffon, and drapes so nicely, and would drape nicely over her future big baby belly. The sample she tried was in the colour ‘Fuscia’ and it looked amazing on her! Then BFF B tried it on and it looked amazing on her too!!

I was like, “Should I do it? Should I be so bold? Will A kill me if I’m such a girly girl??”

What the heck! Fuscia it is!  (and A didn’t kill me. He was fine with it actually. I suppose as long as HE’s not wearing pink, all is well in the world).

We placed the order and presto! Another thing checked off the list

The girls and I separated and A and I headed off for an afternoon of venue shopping. We checked out one place and weren’t overly impressed, which is funny because on paper it looked brilliant! Just goes to show what good photography can do.

But the second place? The place we were looking at for our ceremony? Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant. It’s an old chapel, but not affiliated with any particular religion. I love this because I love old churches, but neither A nor I are particularly religious, so we can bring in an officiant.

Our reception will be at another location, but one that’s only 10 minutes away and the timing will work out so that while the guests are enjoying cocktail hour and hors d’oeuvre, we’ll be having our photography done. Perfect!

Oh and the date? March 3rd!! Eeee! I’ll be a MRS!!!!

Saturday night we took a break from wedding stuff and rented Cowboys and Aliens on demand. It was pretty good! Action, adventure. Gross aliens. And Daniel Craig sans shirt. What more could you want?

Sunday arrived and we spent the morning just chillaxing. But eventually the realization took over that it’s only two weeks until Christmas and we’ve pretty much done jack-all in terms of shopping! So off we went. We actually killed two birds with one stone (or wounded them as A says, as we didn’t complete either task) and set off to Home Outfitters to register for our wedding and buy gifts as we wandered through.

Our first attempt at registering (last Thursday) was dismal. We weren’t sure what we wanted and spent most of the time just seeing what there was. This time though, we made it official. We had the gun and started scanning things in. Decisions were made and after 2.5 hours (!) we had a solid start. I think we need to fill it out a bit more, and I still need to decide on a cutlery set, but we have a good solid base for people to work with.

Once that was over it was home for a brief rest and then off to my parents for supper! Luckily we don’t have far to go 🙂

My sister was there with her family, and CJ was so excited to help decorate our parent’s tree! She was also enthralled with my mom’s porcelain nativity set, particularly the ‘Baby Jesus’. Have you heard a two year old say Baby Jesus?? It’s the cutest thing ever! Even cuter when she started serving him tea: “Here baby Jesus, slurp slurp”.

And then it was time to go home. I spent the rest of the night designing our wedding invitation. Thank you Photoshop Elements! I think I’ve hit upon a design that works for both A and I. I’ll be able to work it into an RSPV card, thank you cards and other printing materials (menu, place settings) we’ll need for the wedding. This is the kind of DIY I like!

A is definitely staying invovled with the planning process, which I love and encourage. It’ll definitely be OUR day.

Hope everyone’s week is off to a great start! Only 12 days until Christmas!!

 


One Comment leave one →
  1. December 12, 2011 4:42 pm

    LOVE your colors! I cannot wait to see pictures after it’s all said and done.

Leave a Reply

