Skip to content

Yes To The Dress

December 1, 2011

When A and I started talking about getting married, we had thought to wait a little bit (but no more than a year) to do the deed after getting engaged (we’re both big planners, so of course we talked about this before he even proposed).

But on the night of our engagement, he suggested that if we could line everything up, we could get married sooner. Possibly just a few months from now.

EEEE!

Marry the love of my life sooner rather than later? I was totally on board!

So for the past few days, I’ve been investigating the possibility of a late February/early March wedding. And people, it looks like it might be d0-able! The two key elements are venue and dress. I’ve emailed a few venues and there are dates available. We have appointments to visit some next week!

As for the dress? Well. I had booked an appointment to go dress shopping next Saturday (the 10th) with my bridal party (my sister and BFF B) and my mom, but when I called the people at the shop kind of freaked me out a bit. If we were thinking of a wedding in a few months, they might not be able to order something new in time, I’d have to buy off the rack, la la la la la. They said if I could come in earlier, that would be better.

I hemmed and hawed, not wanting my girls to miss out on the experience, but the thought of running out of time got to me and so I booked an appointment for my mom and I to go last night, just to get a handle on things.

Little did I know, I would find THE dress!

Our helper, funnily enough also named Christina, was excellent. She didn’t panic when she heard how soon our wedding might be, but calmly went over our options, which as it turns out, were plentiful. It was too late to order new, but anything in the store can be bought off the rack and usually at a discount!

Did she just say discount? Boo ya!

So the three of us went around, picking out styles (a-line shapes suit me best) for me to try on.

Double EEEEE!

I tried on around 6 or 7 dresses before narrowing it down to two. The final two were quite different, but the winner was the one that made me feel most like a princess. I’ve always wanted to be a princess on my wedding day!

I SAID YES TO THE DRESS!

And because it’s off the rack, I was able to bring it home with me! I thought about waiting until the appointment we have next week with my sister and B, but I didn’t want to risk someone coming in and buying it. It’s that fabulous!

I have a dress!! Everything else will fall into place, I just know it!

I’m so excited!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2011 11:38 am

    Yay!!!! OMG! Soooo excited for you!!! Can’t wait to see you looking beautiful in your dress! 🙂

  2. Ally permalink
    December 1, 2011 1:01 pm

    YAY! Three cheers for a positive dress shopping experience. I’m so happy for you, you guys are going to have so much fun planning your wedding.

  3. December 2, 2011 11:23 am

    What?! WOW!!! That is AWESOME!!!! That’s one of the big decisions, the rest is easier. Woohoo!!!

Leave a Reply

