Skip to content

Weekend Wind-Up: Happy Halloween!!

October 31, 2011

Another weekend bites the dust and once again the theme was errands and chores! But there was excitement too….

We bought a vacuum cleaner!

I know, sad right? That’s what gets me excited? But wait, it wasn’t just any vacuum cleaner. It was THE vacuum cleaner, the one we’ve been oggling for months now: The Dyson C23 Animal Motorhead Cannister.

It’s pretty 🙂

And man, can that thing ever suck!! Our carpet is six (almost seven, yikes) years old and it was pulling up fuzzy bits as if it was brand new! I’ve never had so much fun vaccuming in my life.

The rest of our weekend dulled in comparison!

I undertook some cooking experiments, none of which I’m going to share with you in detail, because they weren’t my best efforts, but I made Nanaimo Bars and Quiche.

The Nanaimo Bars were excellent in taste, but lacking in aesthetic qualities. That was due to my impatience and not letting the layers cool before combining (though how you’re supposed to let melted chocolate cool enough to pour without it hardening, I can’t figure out). The result was a slightly melty mess and the layered effect was off.

The quiche was a complete experiment and in theory it sounded good (broccoli, onion and cheese), but reality wasn’t that great. Bummer!

Other than that we did the usual cleaning, had a quick visit with my sister, her hubby and CJ and on Saturday night watched the fourth Pirates of the Caribbean movie. It was pretty good! Entertaining, and that’s all I really ask for in a film.

Today is Halloween! I’m not dressed up or anything, but we are all set to hand out candy tonight! There are usually around 100-150 kids, so we’re well stocked with chocolate. And yesterday A and I carved our pumpkin! It’s the most amazing Jack O’ Lantern that’s ever graced my porch! So spooky.

 

And this post seems all over the place. Just as I am today! But it’s Monday so that’s allowed. I hope everyone has a safe Halloween night!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2011 12:42 pm

    Ohhhh gotta love the Dyson!! Good for you guys! Love the Jack-o-Lantern! Looks great!

  2. October 31, 2011 4:01 pm

    LOL, I love my Dyson too! Enjoy! I had to google Nanaimo Bars…they look delish, even if yours didn’t come out “pretty”

Leave a Reply

