Skip to content

Weekend Wind-Up

October 24, 2011

A and I played hookey from our ‘To Do’ list this weekend. We got up Saturday morning and headed out on a road trip! Hooray!

Destination: Elora, ON

At first glance on the map, Elora doesn’t seem like the most glamorous choice for a road trip, not with the likes of Niagara-On-The-Lake within a two hour drive of us. But A lived there for six months and wanted me to see how lovely it was, with it’s quaint setting on the Grand River and adorable boutique shops (Shops! Does my man know me or what?).

We headed out and rather than take the highway the whole drive there, A took me on a scenic tour of the area near Forks on the Credit. What a beautiful drive! I would have taken pics, but despite the fact that we weren’t going very fast, the roads were still twisty and I had a tad bit of motion sickness to deal with.

Around noon, we made it to Elora. Our first stop was to get a glimpse of the famous Elora Gorge.

This old mill is an inn! But it's under renovations. I would LOVE to stay there someday!

We didn’t trek very far (it was a bit chilly out) but I saw some stunning views of the Grand River. Once we got that out of the way, it was time for the shops!

Some of the charming decorative styles

Elora has made itself a boutique shopping destination, with antiques, specialty clothing and kitchen stores and a plethora of art galleries. I didn’t buy much, just a hunk of Applewood smoked cheddar and some glass ornaments from the local glass shop (for our Christmas tree!), but the possibilities were endless!

We had lunch at a place specializing in crepes, where I enjoyed the very yummy ‘Campangarde’ crepe with ham, egg, mushrooms, onions and swiss cheese. A had the ‘Chef’s Special’ with chicken, mushrooms, spinach and goat cheese (I know, I bet you’re shocked I didn’t have the one with the goat cheese!)

In the washroom at the crepe place...notice the note on the mirror? This is a world wide effort called Operation Beautiful implemented by Caitlyn at Healthy Tipping Point. I love that I found one! Click on the image to take you to the Healthy Tipping Point website ๐Ÿ™‚

Since it’s one week until Halloween, Elora was all decked out for the holiday! They even had a ‘Twilight Zoo’ created by Tim Murton (if you’re a fan of Martha Stewart, he did something similar at her home this year), with scary sculptures scattered around a park. We took a look and it was amazing! It was too bad that we didn’t stay into the evening, because apparently they lit up quite eerily and were amazing to see at night, but around 3pm we were done and headed back home.

We stopped at the Vaughn Mills mall for a quick visit to the Bass Pro Shop and had dinner at the Pickle Barrel, and made it home by 7pm. Just in time too, because I ended up with a rather vicious headache for the rest of the night. All I could manage was to watch Horrible Bosses (funny movie!) with A before hitting the sack at 9:30.

But it was a great day out and about, no question about that!

Are you scared?

Nope, I didn't think so ๐Ÿ™‚

Sunday was rather relaxed. I left A to his own devices for a few hours to do a bit of shopping with my sister, but other than that we didn’t really do much. I had what I refer to as ‘headache hangover’, where I’m super tired. I did manage to pull myself together to make Turkey Tetrazzini for supper (though not enough to take pictures of it…I used this recipe though if you’re interested)

Is it just me or do the weekends go by waaaayyyy to quickly?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

