Skip to content

Shirley I Can!

October 19, 2011

So A and I are trying to implement weekly meal planning. It may seem a little strange for just the two of us, but we have our reasons:

1. By only buying what we need for the week, we can hopefully avoid food waste and spoilage

2. Along the same lines, by only buying what we need, we can save some cashola.

3. Taking that one step further, we’ll save even MORE money by having no excuse to eat out, since we’ll have all the ingredients on hand to make our own meals.

4. Which brings us to this: planning our meals will help us make healthy food choices

Of course, sticking to the plan is somewhat of a challenge, especially after nights like last night where neither of us were feeling great and cooking was the last thing we wanted to do and so we stopped to pick up pizza on our way home…

But that’s neither here nor there.

Last week I went one step further in all my meal planning maddness. I was making our signature pasta dish (toss a bunch of veggies, sausage and pasta with a vodka sauce and eat!), chopping up some broccoli and was about to throw the stems into the compost when I stopped myself and thought: what a waste! Surely I can make this into something.

After I’d finished laughing at myself by answering: yes I can, and don’t call me Shirley (If you’ve never seen Airplane, get on that), I packaged them back up and put them in the fridge, to save and make broccoli slaw!

A part of me wondered if I’d actually follow through with my plan, but follow through I did, on Sunday night. Using my new, bee-u-tiful food processor, I shredded broccoli stems and carrots (to add nutrition and colour) then tossed these with some miracle whip and dijon mustard. And voila! Broccoli slaw. It was super tasty.

13 cups with a ton of attachments! Isn't she pretty?

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

Three broccoli stems, shredded

Two carrots, shredded (keep the peel on)

1/4 cup of mayo, plus a little more if you’re like me and can’t get enough of the stuff

1 tbsp dijon mustard

Instructions

Combine, mix and serve!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

