Skip to content

Weekend Wind-Up

October 18, 2011

The name of the game this weekend was errands. In no particular order, and some with A’s help, I:

  • had my hair cut (trimmed. Just an inch off!)
  • dyed my hair (myself!! my first time doing it without my sister!!)
  • made marinara sauce from the remaining ripe tomatoes (I got two quarts)
  • took my sewing machine in for repairs
  • took my winter coat to the dry cleaners (so sad it’s almost that time of year)
  • bought new buttons for a coat I own (to give it a fresh look and hopefully satisfy my desire to buy a new one)
  • put together a wall hanging (more on that further down)
  • made almond butter
  • made broccoli slaw

There are a few things we didn’t get done, like getting started on organizing the basement (it’s a disaster down there!), but the weather was so dreary and grey, we just didn’t feel like spending our time in the dark basement (it’s unfinished).

All of those tasks were entertaining in their way, but nothing compared to the fun I had with creating the wall hanging! I have this space in my stairwell that’s like 10 feet high and six feet wide (this may not be entirely accurate. It is a really huge space though). I love my paint colour (a nice grey) but the wall needed some oomph. The problem is that oomph for that large of a space would require you to shell out some serious $$$.

Or does it?

Inspired by my sister, who did something similar in her own home,  I came up with an easy and inexpensive solution: a wall hanging using a simple length of fabric stapled to an easy to make wooden frame. Perfect in theory, but where to find inexpensive but nice looking fabric?

Enter IKEA, who once again, saves the day. Did you know you can by fabric by the metre from IKEA? For like $6.99 a metre?? With some styles even cheaper?

Boo-yah!

With a 1.5 metre of fabric from IKEA coming in at $12, and the wood coming in at $12 from Home Depot, I was able to create an inexpensive, but super amazing looking wall hanging for the giant wall.

From downstairs...

From upstairs...

Close up...

The one problem is that you can see the wood frame through the white background, but that doesn’t really bother me. I’m considering buying some fabric paint to colour in bits and pieces of the design, since they’re just screaming to be coloured in, like so:

Sidenote: A bought me Photoshop Elements 10!! It’s AMAZING!! I love love love it! Who needs flowers? 😉

But for now, I’m going to let us live with it for a bit as is to see what feels right.

Happy Monday all! Here’s to a week that flies by!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2011 9:35 am

    That looks awesome!! Love it!!

  2. October 18, 2011 9:58 am

    what a great idea C. It looks wonderful!

Leave a Reply

