Skip to content

Ten on Tuesday

October 18, 2011

Another vacation list…I suppose it’s that time of year where we wish we were heading off somewhere to escape the cooler weather! Thanks to Roots and Rings for hosting!

1. You’re packing for a week long vacation, do you pack ahead of time or wait until the last possible minute to pack?

I usually start a few days in advance. I make a list of specifically which items of clothing  I want to bring (categorized of course) and then start piling them up next to my suitcase. I pack the suitcase itself the night before, but will toss in bits and pieces I don’t want to forget in the days leading up to the trip (chargers, scarves etc.)

2. Are you a light or heavy packer?

Um. Heavy. I’ve always thought of myself as a light packer, but a recent evaluation (and comments from a certain someone) has led me to the realization that I am a heavy packer. I just like having everything I might need on hand! Let’s say that I’m not a heavy packer, I’m a plan-ahead packer.

3. What are your favorite road trip snacks?

Nuts. I love nuts of any kind on a road trip! And jelly beans. Specifically, jelly bellies. Yum!

4. Do you take any reading material along?

Absolutely! I always make a special trip to the book store for vacation reading material. I usually buy a chick-lit romance, a thriller and a magazine to bring along.

5. Do you prefer to drive or fly to your vacation destination?

Fly. Definitely fly. Take it as someone who has literally driven from the East coast to the West coast of Canada. Not at once, but we started in Ontario and went west one year. And several other years we started in Ontario and went East. That’s a lot of driving, a lot of motion sickness (me),  a lot of gas, a lot of fast food and a lot of ferry rides (to Newfoundland).

6. What is your favorite time of the year to take your vacation?

That would depend on where I’m going. If it’s the hot season somewhere, then in the not so hot season (I don’t like extreme heat). If it’s to Newfoundland, July/August. If you’re lucky, you’ll hit the “hot” season there!

7. Where is your favorite place to vacation?

That may be obvious. Newfoundland of course!

8. You are vacationing in the mountains, what is your favorite thing to do while there?

I haven’t really vacationed in the mountains, so I don’t really have a favourite thing.

9. You are at the beach for your vacation,  do you like to take it easy on the beach or play all day in the water?

Take it easy with trips into the water to cool off. I find it hard in the water since I wear glasses. I would never be able to see a shark coming at me until it was literally under my nose.

10. While your on vacation do you prefer to eat out every night or cook some of your own meals?

If it’s somewhere I’ve never been, eat out every night. But if it’s a known place, I like to be able to cook myself.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

