Skip to content

Ten on Tuesday

October 11, 2011

I’m back! After a really great long weekend (It was Thanksgiving here in Canada for those of you in the US not in the know) and the busy-ness of work subsided, I can pay my blog the attention it deserves. I’ll share my weekend wind-up later tonight, but for now, here’s this weeks Ten on Tuesday! The theme? PASTA!! Thanks to Chelsea at Roots and Rings for hosting 🙂

1. Red Sauce or White Sauce?
Neither, I love a good blush sauce, combining the goodness of both the red and white.

2. Do you prefer pasta you can twirl or stab?

Stabbing I think. I’m a clean eater 🙂

3. Baked or boiled?
Baked, all the way, though I eat more boiled for convenience and health (baked always comes with a ton of cheese).

4. Do you like meat in your sauce or do you kick it vegetarian style?
Mmm, meat definitely. If it has sausage or bacon, even better!!

5. Where have you had your very best pasta ever?
That’s tough. Really tough. You’d think the most logical response would be Italy, but it’s actually a toss up between this Italian place I went to in Laguna Beach and had an amazing butternut squash ravioli with a browned sage butter sauce and a place in London near Hyde Park where I indulged in a wild mushroom ravioli.

6. What is your favorite pasta dish?
My current fave is the dish A and I make together: a box of rotini (I like Catelli Smart); four or five grilled sausages, sliced; a plethora of roasted or sauteed veggies, whatever you have on hand; a bottle of vodka sauce and a package of goat cheese. Toss it all together and voila! A-MAZ-ING.

7. Do you serve meatballs when you make spaghetti or just do a meat sauce?
Just a meat sauce. I’m not huge on the balls of meat, though I’m warming up to them as I get older.

8. Why type (rice, whole wheat, egg, etc) of noodles do you use?
I love the Catelli Smart, because it has the goodness of whole wheat but isn’t as tough. I like a soft pasta.

9. What type of meats or vegetables do you put in your sauce?
Whatever I have on hand!

10. Do you make a “Sunday gravy” to use throughout the week or do you just open a jar of whatever and heat it up? (No judgment on this one!)
I don’t know what Sunday Gravy means…I’m assuming a huge pot? We don’t have pasta all that much, so no. But when I do make it, with the exception of the bottled sauce we use in #6, I try and do it almost from scratch (though I’m leaning more towards completely from scratch and next year want to grow enough tomatoes to bottle our own sauce). For the time being, I use a can of tomato sauce (with nothing else in it), a can of tomato paste and then add the seasonings myself.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

