Skip to content

Ten on Tuesday

September 27, 2011
Link up over at Roots and Rings!
1. What is your dream vacation?
Hmm, that’s a good one. My vacation aspirations have changed over the years. There used to be all sorts of places I wanted to go, but as the years pass I’ve learned that  I actually prefer being at home during my vacation times. That being said, I would love to visit the Turks and Caicos one day and have an all-inclusive beach vacation!
2. What has been your favorite trip so far in your life?
I bet y’all know what my answer will be here…my trip to Newfoundland with A this summer! I’ve had some amazing vacations in the past, but it’s nothing compared to sharing the experience with someone you love.
3. If you and one of your best friends could go anywhere in the world for one week, where would it be and why?
I think my BFF B and I would enjoy a getaway to somewhere in Europe. We both studied history in school and have a great love of things from the past. Europe is nothing but chalk full of history!
4. Have you ever booked a trip using an online deal? How did it go?
I did. My sister and I used travelocity to book our trip to Vegas a couple of years back. We got a great deal, with our room and hotel (Mandalay Bay) for under $900! It was fabulous.
5. What’s your favorite thing to do while you’re on vacation?
If I’m somewhere I’ve never been, I love just wandering, soaking up the atmosphere. I don’t need to spend big money on tourist attractions. Just being there is enough for me!
6. Have you ever missed an opportunity to take a trip that you regret?
I don’t think so…I had the opportunity to go to Austria for work once, but declined to go. I don’t really regret it though, because I’d just gotten back from a trip to England and trans-Atlantic flights exhaust me!
7. You travel far away from home and get stranded with no way to buy anything, what’s the one thing you can’t live without?
Nightmare. I guess I can’t live without food?
8. What’s one of your favorite traveling memories?
My mom and I went to England in 2005. We have a lot of family history there, going back hundreds and hundreds of years. On one of the Sunday’s we were there, we attended a church service at Tewkesbury Abbey, which has been there since 1121 CE. Some of my ancestors are buried there, since the 1300’s and to be in the place where they once were was quite the amazing feeling.
9. All included resort or backpacking? Why?
All inclusive, no question. I am not, not have I ever been, a backpacking kind of girl. I usually pack way more than I need, I don’t want to be carrying my stuff with me all the time and though I’m not a princess requiring 5-star hotels, there’s no way I would stay in a hostel. I know myself quite well 🙂
10. Are you more of a lie on the beach kind of person on vacation, or do you prefer to see the sights?
I like a good balance between the two. I like to see the sights but also get in some good relaxing time.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2011 1:42 pm

    Hey there! I really had to come by your blog and thank you for your comment on mine earlier today. I would normally just reply on my original post, but I wanted to make sure I could answer you properly… Because it really struck a chord with me. Everything you said basically sounds like me right now and along with a few of the other comments I received has me thinking of what I can do to change that. I love that you overcame your anxiety, and I’d love to be the person who does that too.

    So thanks again for stopping by & hopefully I’ll see you around more! Also, love the answers to your questions here. If you ever get the chance to go to Europe with your BFF, do it! I just came home from a month in Greece with 3 of my best friends and it was the experience of a life time. That was the inspiration for my questions actually, so I’m excited to answer them as well. 🙂

  2. September 28, 2011 9:26 am

    I’m so glad it was helpful. When I re-read what I wrote I thought maybe it was too harsh, but I’m glad you didn’t take it that way. 🙂 I’ll definitely keep visiting and cheer you on as you wade through the crazy world of dating!

  3. September 28, 2011 1:10 pm

    Mandalay Bay is an amazing resort! Love it there.

Leave a Reply

