Skip to content

Soups On!

September 21, 2011

Since we’re harvesting at least a half a dozen ripe tomatoes every day, I decided to make tomato soup last night! I’m not usually a soup person, but in an effort to not waste what we’re so proud of growing, and to get away from my standard tomato and cucumber salad (which I do love but can’t eat on a daily basis), I was willing to try anything!

I found a recipe for Fresh Plum Tomato Soup in Rose Reisman’s The Art of Living Well that I adapted slightly and it was brilliant! A and I both really enjoyed it, along with a fresh loaf of bread (that I unfortunately didn’t make; I haven’t had a chance to make dough in the last few days!).

Tomato Soup (makes 4 hearty servings; adapted from The Art of Living Well by Rose Reisman)

Ingredients

A few tbsp of olive oil

12 tomatoes, seeded and chopped

1 onion, chopped

3 cloves of garlic

2 cups of vegetable stock

3 tbsp tomato paste

4 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

Garnish: Parmesano Reggiano, grated

Directions

1. Pour olive oil into a large saucepan over medium heat and cook onion and garlic until softened.

2. Add tomatoes, veggie stock, tomato paste, sugar, salt and pepper. Bring to a boil and cook for 15 minutes.

3. Using a blender, puree the tomato mixture in batches. Pour into bowls, garnish with parmesano reggiano and basil and serve!

P.S. Super huge Happy Birthday to my Dad!! He’s in Jamaica this week (on business) but we’ll hopefully celebrate this weekend!  Love you Dad!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2011 9:21 am

    This looks really good! I’m not a soup person myself but I want to try this out!

  2. September 21, 2011 12:51 pm

    It was pretty easy. The most time consuming part was seeding the tomatoes, but that was made easier with the help of a melon baller!

Leave a Reply

