Skip to content

The Great Placemat Adventure

September 14, 2011

I know, I’m a bit of a loser for enjoying this too much, but if you can’t enjoy the little things in life, what’s the point?

Saturday morning I woke up with a mission: I needed new placemats.

I was hosting a little dinner party that night and realized that I didn’t have six matching place mats! So once we’d done some tidying up, off I headed on my mission. A opted to stay home, which was a wise decision on his part because if you’re familiar with me in any way at all, you might know that when I have an idea in my head, I can’t shake it. It latches on and won’t let go until it’s completely satisfied.

I’ve literally searched entire countries for things.

Side note: I once wanted this jacket from Zara. I saw it in Italy but they didn’t have my size. I searched all the stores in Toronto and nothing. I ended up finding it in San Francisco on a trip for work. Countries people!! I searched three countries for that jacket!

Anyways, my idea for placemats was turquoise. I wanted colour, and silly me, didn’t think it would be that hard to find something colourful.

Wrong.

Oh so very wrong.

I went to Homesense, thinking they’d have the perfect thing. Nada. Pier 1 Imports. Nope. Walmart, Canadian Tire, Bouclair. Nothing. Only fall colours were to be found. There’s nothing wrong with fall colours, and I considered a nice orange or a muted green, but IT’S STILL SUMMER!! It’s still 25+ degrees outside! We still have at least 12 hours of sunlight a day! Why, oh why, is it so hard to buy things in the actual season you want them for?!

And never mind the price! $4-8 each! Call me cheap frugal, but I didn’t want to spend that much.

I didn’t want to drive around all afternoon. I had to get home and finish up my chores! I had one more option before heading home: The Real Canadian Superstore (aka Loblaws). They always pull through in a pinch! I needed to pick up something for lunch anyways. I parked, walked in over to the home section and……my heart sank. Nothing brighter than a rusty red. What??? Even Galen Weston Jr. let me down.

Dejected and disappointed in the world for sticking with seasonal colours rather than thinking outside the box, I started heading towards the frozen foods section (only pizza could console me)

But then, a miracle! Out of the corner of my eye, I spotted a row of shelves filled with summer colours. The clearance rack! And there, right on the end was a thick pile of summer placemats. Even before I sorted through them I saw the ones I wanted. Various shades of turquoise and white in a striped pattern. Simple, fun, COLOURFUL.

Yay!

But how much were they? I searched for a price tag and my heart nearly stopped…..

$1

Yup, that’s right. They were only one whole dollar each!!! I almost cried. I love bargains. I’m pretty sure I said something out loud because a few people looked over at me. Whatever! I was getting six placemats for six bucks!!

I picked out six, held onto them for dear life, grabbed a pizza (also the perfect celebratory food) and headed to the cash, where the bargain got even sweeter.

They scanned at only .80 cents each.

O

M

G

The lesson here boys and girls? Never give up. I certainly don’t 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

