Skip to content

Weekend Wind-Up

September 12, 2011

It’s 8:14pm on Monday night. I’m just home from my monthly massage (bliss) and have about an hour to compose this post before I’ll be heading off to bed. Let’s see how I do…

Friday evening I got home with an unusual burst of energy for a Friday night. But that energy didn’t extend to making supper, so we headed out and treated ourselves to South Street Burger (the BEST burgers!!). Our evening entertainment was to watch X-Men: First Class, and I have to say, it was quite good! I love the X-Men franchise and this one didn’t disappoint.

Saturday was our usual bi-weekly house clean (my vacuum actually made it through all the stairs and into our bedroom until the motor overheated!). Once that was done, I went out on a mission to find place mats, which deserves a post on it’s own so I’ll write about that later this week. It was THAT exciting. I’m not kidding. It’s quite adventure, especially if you like a bargain…

That night A and I hosted our first dinner party for more than two people! We invited M1 and her hubby, and M2, her hubby and their beautiful baby girl. I made lasagna (completely winging the recipe, which I NEVER do and thank God it turned out rather brilliantly), Caesar salad and, of course, bread from scratch! M1 brought the appy’s and M2 the dessert (which was a surprise b-day cake for M1 whose b-day is this weekend! I just had a piece of the leftovers. Mmm.). We had a really lovely evening eating and chatting. Friends are an awesome thing 🙂

Sunday we awoke to another stunning day. Saturday was lovely as well, but we had so much to do that most of it was spent indoors. So we made sure to get out and do stuff! I did a bit of gardening, ripping out the last of the zucchini plant (it’s no longer producing) and planted my lettuce, swiss chard and some beets. Fingers crossed these fall crops take!

After lunch (which we didn’t actually eat), we headed to another conservation area for an hour long hike. The paths were nicely groomed and there were a couple of good hills that got our heart rates up!

When we got home, I did a couple of kitchen chores (grated our last zucchini to freeze in one cup portions; made almond butter) before we headed over to my mom’s for supper. My dad is traveling for business right now and she likes to take the opportunity while he’s away to experiment with recipes. We are more than happy to be used as guinea pigs!

We rounded out the weekend with another movie. This time we watched Unknown, with Liam Neeson and January Jones. We really enjoyed it, though the plot was somewhat obvious after a bit and A totally called the ending!

I didn’t forget that yesterday was the 10th anniversary of 9/11. I made sure to take a moment to remember the awfulness that was that day 10 years ago, but I also knew, from brief exposure to the news and radio coverage over the past week, that I couldn’t handle it emotionally to watch any of the events that were planned in commemoration. My emotions are still a little quick to react after the events of the summer, so I made it a point to just enjoy the day.

Especially since it marked 8 months since A and I met. Life continues and what better way to remember than to celebrate it?

And it’s 8:49. I finished early! I hope everyone had a great weekend!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

