Skip to content

Lime and Coconut Crumble Squares

September 8, 2011

We don’t have dessert too often in our casa. We usually make do with a piece of fruit, or lately, if absolutely necessary, a few chocolate chips (which is what we’re munching on as I type).

But as I’m starting to flex my baking wings, and I’m constantly bombarded by sweet and tempting recipes on the web, I couldn’t let the long weekend, the LAST long weekend of the summer, go by without something yummy as a send off.

Since I was the one doing the baking, and A will pretty much eat whatever I make, I decided to make something citrus-y. Lemon or lime flavoured desserts are among my favourites! When I found the recipe for Lime and Coconut Crumble Squares on one of my new favourite blogs, Two Peas and Their Pod, the choice was made and I set out to create!

The first part of the recipe was to mix the ‘crumble’ part. I started out by creaming the butter and brown sugar:

Add flour, salt and baking powder until it’s a sandy texture:

Stir in old fashioned oats and sweetened shredded coconut and then set aside.

Up next was the lime mixture. And wow, do I ever need either a) a juicer or b) a proper plastic juicer (you know, the cone shaped ones) because this was tough! I needed 1/2 cup of lime juice and it took me four limes and numerous squirts across the kitchen (and on myself) to get it!

Stir the  lime juice into the sweetened condensed milk:

Add some lime zest:

Look how pretty it looks!

And everything is set to go into the 8 x 8 baking dish. Pour part of the crumbly mixture into the dish and press down.

Pour the lime/milk mix on top…

And then pour the remaining crumbly bits on top to cover the lime mixture completely!

Bake for 30-35 minutes and voila!

They were nothing short of miraculous! Tart, sweet and salty, all at once. We absolutely loved them! Poor A was skeptical at first. He had the unfortunate timing to come down and see me at the juicing stage of things, which quite frankly, wasn’t the tidiest of operations. But a few bites in and he was hooked! The end result was definitely worth it and all in all it was a relatively simple recipe to make.

Visit Two Peas and Their Pod for the complete list of ingredients and instructions!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 10:34 am

    These sound amazing! I’m going to have to try these.

Leave a Reply

