Skip to content

Peaches!

August 14, 2011

I’m not a huge peach fan. I love the flavour, but there’s something about the fuzzy skin that gets to me when biting into one. That being said, on Friday night I was at the grocery store picking up a few things for dinner when I saw a basket of ripe Ontario peaches. They looked so lovely and juicy, I just had to pick them up. When I got home I wondered what in the world I would do with a whole basket of peaches when inspiration struck:

Peach Cobbler!

I’ve never cobbled before (crisps, yes, cobblers, no), so I looked through a few recipe books, knowing there’d be a recipe in my collection somewhere that would suit. Eureka! I found one in here, in one of my favourite books:

The original recipe was for a Bumbleberry Cobbler, but there was a peach adaptation listed:

Base

8 sliced peaches

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon (which I’m now just realizing as I type this that I forgot to add)

1/2 cup granulated sugar

3 tbsp all-purpose flour

Topping

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 half cup whole wheat flour

3 tbsp sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1 half cup margarine or butter, cold

1 egg

3 quarters cup buttermilk

2 tbsp icing sugar, sifted (to sprinkle on top and make it all pretty)

Side note: all of a sudden my backslash is this: é. Hmm. Forward slash is this: à. Not sure what happened there…hence my fraction measurements are written out

Perfect! So after a nice dinner of baked salmon and veggies, I got to work.

I took eight peaches and sliced them, just as the recipe called for.

Um, have you ever sliced peaches?? Not so easy, especially for me, somewhat of a peach virgin. I tried a couple of different methods, but what seemed to work best for me was to slice around the whole peach vertically (through the stem) and then make single vertical cuts and kind of pry the slice out with a twist of the knife. I’m definitely going to be reading up on the best way to slice 🙂

Once I had my slices, I added the sugar and flour, mixed it all up and then poured it into a 9 x 13 baking dish.

Next up was the dough to put on top of this yummy mix. The flours, sugar and baking powder were mixed together in  bowl, and then came the butter. The recipe said to cut the butter into the flour mixture, and I had to get inventive here, because I don’t have a pastry cutter (adding to the list of kitchen utensils I need! Good stocking stuffer Mom, hint hint). Instead I used a potato masher. It did a pretty good job!

The final step for the dough was to mix together 3/4 cup of buttermilk and one egg and add it to the flour mixture, but again, I had to get inventive because I was out of milk (we use almond milk in our house). But luckily I’m a believer in buying two cans of something when at the store, even if I just need one, and happened to have a can of evaporated milk on hand from when I made the Knock You Naked Brownies (OMG Ièm remembering those! Mmm. And now my apostrophe wonèt work). Not the same, but it would do the trick!

Once the dough was ready, it was time to spoon it onto the peaches. I hope I did this right, but how I understood it was to plop 8 spoon-fulls over the peaches, so that the peaches could bubble up around it.

Looks ok!

Into the oven it went for 45 minutes at 375 degrees F.

While I waited, I sat down to watch some TV. We just recently downgraded to basic cable (very basic. It was tough but we barely watch TV anymore, so we thought it would be a good idea to save ourselves some money). As a result, the pickings were slim. But I came across an old favourite, and settled in to see how I fared next to some really smart college students:

I’m happy to say that I did pretty good, though I’m sure A, who was upstairs throughout this experiment, was wondering what the heck was going on as I literally shouted out my answers.

“MOSES!!”

“NOAH!!”

“GOLIATH, NO DAVID!!”

There was a religious themed category on Friday night 🙂

Kitty kept me company until I shoved her off my lap when the oven timer let me know that my cobbler was done. It looked pretty good:

And it tasted pretty good too. It wasn’t the most stellar thing we’ve ever eaten in our lives, but it was tasty and hit the spot! The dough was a bit dense and could have been a little moister, but those peaches were sweet and tart all at once, and the best part?

I couldn’t feel the fuzz!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

