Skip to content

Treat Gone Wrong

August 11, 2011

You know when you start eating something and it tastes like the best thing in the world, EVER, but once you reach the end it’s become almost labour intenstive to eat, somewhat sickening actually, and you don’t know if you’ll make it but keep going anyways?

Such was my experience with dessert at lunch today: A banana parfait from Whole Foods.

I sadly left my lunch in the car this morning when A dropped me at the train (he’s rescued it and put it in the fridge at work) and found myself at the Whole Foods salad bar for lunch. A healthy endeavor, sure (I had a fabulous salad with steamed kale, quinoa, sunflower seeds, peppers and beets), but not when you pass by the bakery on the way back to check out.

I’d been eying the parfait for months now, but up until today had the power to resist it. But seeing as I’m in a good mood (A and I have been together for seven months today, YAY US!!), I decided to splurge.

On this:


Sorry it’s blurry. My hand was shaking in anticipation of digging in.

Here we have banana bread layered with custard and caramel, then topped with whipped cream.

Cheese. And. Toast. Banana bread? Good. Custard? Gooood. Caramel? Gooooooood.

The first few bites were delicious. Absolutely sinful. I couldn’t have been more happy that I’d given in to my craving.

However.

Once I was halfway through, I started to feel full. After a few more bites, I felt a little sick. But I kept going! Oh yes. I wasn’t going to let this go to waste!

I finished it off, though I felt rough. I should have listened to my body, but ignored it in the name of custardy goodness.I may pay for it later. Luckily we have a nice walk planned for this evening (the weather in Toronto is PERFECT today!).

But man, were those first bites ever good.

Note to Whole Foods: Smaller portions please!!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

