Skip to content

And Life Goes On

July 29, 2011

It’s a cliche, but time does heal all wounds. Gradually.

I’ve had several friends check in with me over the past few days asking how I was doing. My answer? OK.  Just OK. But that’s better than I was a couple of weeks ago. Then, I was so blown away by what we’d just experienced, I thought I’d never feel OK again. But it does get better and I imagine that in another few weeks I’ll be feeling even more OK. Possibly even great. I will never forget but I will move forward!

It’s helping to get back into the swing of things. Despite some lingering physical effects (apparently I’m allergic to codeine? Itchy!) and exhaustion (I feel like I could sleep for a day), I was back at work this week. I’ve been finding it hard to focus, but it’s sort of quiet right now and I’ve spent my time tidying up a bunch of loose ends before I’m off on vacation.

At home, we’ve been busy as well. Wednesday night we had a visit from A’s parents! The four of us piled into the car and we headed over to my parents for a lovely dinner. It was the first time our parents met, and we think it went swimmingly! We come from such similar family backgrounds in terms of values and how supportive our families are and I had no doubt that our parents would get along. Yay!

And even though my life slowed down for a bit, our garden growth sped up, and I’m proud to say we’ve used absolutely no chemicals to get these results!

Holy cows and chickens!!

We learned too late that cucumber is a climber. This guy grew over the side and latched himself onto the grass!

All the sun, heat and daily watering’s (by us of course), bore ‘fruit’ for all our plants!

Peas!

Zucchini

Zucchini blossoms, which are apparently fabulous stuffed with cheese and deep fried. This year too much was happening, but maybe next year I'll try cooking them

Red shepherd peppers. Not quite red yet!

Cherry tomatoes

Of course, most of it is still young and not ripe enough to be harvested, but I’m excited to say that we tried our first pea the other night and man, was it sweet!

Last night I even cooked our first zucchini! I prepared it in my favourite way: cut into medallions, and sauteed with some olive oil, salt and pepper until they just begin to brown. Yum!

All of this growth has me thinking ahead to how we’re going to preserve our harvest, so I’ve been scouring my books, identifying recipes we’d like to use, equipment we need to get (we’re lucky that my parents were canners once up on a time and still have some of the key tools they’re willing to lend us!) and figuring out exactly how it all works. It’s going to be an adventure!

And now we’re just getting ourselves ready to head out on vacation to Newfoundland! We have our ride to the airport all lined up (thanks J!), our house sitters in order (someone has to tend to Kitty and the garden) and our bags (almost) packed! I’m quite ready for some R&R. Since there’s no internet access (not in the whole province, just at our house…it’s not a backward place you know!) and our phones won’t work (only in St. John’s, not in the more rural areas), I won’t be posting until we’re back, but I’m sure I’ll have some grand stories to tell when we return! My #1 priority is to get A screeched in. Google that if you’re unaware of the process, but it basically makes him an honorary Newfie. Me? I was born a Newfie. No screeching in necessary!

Have a great week everyone!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

