Skip to content

Be Yourself

July 6, 2011

Here is my confession: I love being at home. I love doing homey things, like decorating and cleaning and gardening and cooking. I also love solitary activities like reading and knitting and photography and, of course, blogging.

I know, not much of a confession, is it? If you’ve read my blog for any length of time, I’m sure you’ve already gathered that information about me. But there is a point I’m trying to make, so keep reading…

I used to be ashamed of the things I liked to do. I wouldn’t freely admit that I preferred to be at home rather than our and about. I used to think I had to like other things in order for people (particularly men) to find me interesting. That I had to be out all the time, socializing or going to events in the city. That I had to like sports or watch sports or, (God forbid), participate in sports (shudder).

It took me a long time to realize that I didn’t have to be ashamed of my extracurricular activities. They’re a-ok as long as I’m happy (and make sure to get out to see friends and family, which we do on a regular basis).

The reason I was thinking about this is because of a segment I heard on the radio yesterday morning. Last weekend in the UK there was a marathon of all the Harry Potter movies. Apparently people were quite involved with the event and even dressed for the occasion as characters from the books. Some got quite emotional at the thought that there’s only one movie left and they played a segment featuring one of those people on the morning show.

They ripped the poor person apart. Yes, it’s the nature of this particular radio show to mock and make fun of pretty much everything (if you live in the Toronto area, I’m sure you know which one I’m referring to), but it made me think of how brave those people were to be true to themselves and what they were passionate about. Maybe it’s not for everyone, but apparently it’s for someone!

And the real truth is that as long as you love what you do and enjoy it, there should be no shame in admitting it (unless it’s illegal and/or harmful to others. That’s NOT ok). And when you’re happy and positive about your life, other people won’t care how you spend your time; they’ll be too busy admiring how confident and put together you are.

The moral of this story post? Be yourself.

Always 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 6, 2011 6:31 pm

    You are so right on this. Sometimes it is hard to be yourself, but it is most important thing that you can do for YOU. Love the post.

Leave a Reply

