Skip to content

Sweet Potato Pancakes

June 23, 2011

I have to preface this post by saying ‘Yummy’. This recipe was really, really yummy.

Last week at Bulk Barn (I HEART Bulk Barn), I picked up some coconut flour. I’m trying out different non-gluten flours to see how they work and taste, since gluten is on the list of things I shouldn’t be eating. I knew I had to try this one, with it’s yummy coco-nutty flavour. But how? I’m still not up for trying the fanciness of gluten-free baking, especially since one of the key lessons I’ve learned on this diet to help cure me of my candida problem is that GLUTEN-FREE DOES NOT MEAN SUGAR FREE!!

So I did what any modern gal would do: I Googled. Well, technically I didn’t Google. I used the Whole Foods App on my iphone, since I was on the train at the time. Sounds pretty modern to me! In the ‘Ingredients On Hand’ section I typed in ‘coconut flour’ and a plethora of recipes popped up, though most had to do with coconut oil or coconut milk. Still, I found inspiration in this recipe for Sweet Potato Pancakes. I decided that instead of using the rice flour called for, I would use my coconut flour! Genius.

It WAS genius. I decided to half the recipe and ended up with six ‘cakes:

Ingredients

1 sweet potato, grated

1 tbsp coconut flour

1 tsp garlic and herbs mixture I had in the cupboard

1 onion, grated (which on my grater basically turned it to pulp)

1 egg

salt and pepper

2 tbsp coconut oil.

Instructions:

Mix all but the coconut oil (this will go into the fying pan).

One of my favourite seasonings. All sorts of goodness in one container, and no yeast or sugar to be found!

Scoop 1/2 cup of mixture into a frying pan, flatten and cook on medium for a couple of minutes on each side until lightly browned. These cook surprisingly fast and the five minutes on each side called for in the original recipe caused the first few I cooked to be somewhat darker than light brown.

As in black-ish.

AKA burnt.

The end result  was quite tasty. I made six by halving the recipe. But alas, alak, the pictures I took did not come out well at all and there were no leftovers!

Just a couple of notes: Next time I would use another egg, even though I halved the recipe. It needed just a little bit more ‘stick’  to keep the patties together. The ones I made came apart slightly at the edges.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

