Skip to content

Ready…Set….GROW!

June 22, 2011

As I knew we had a very busy weekend ahead of us visiting family, I set a goal to get the vegetable garden planted on Thursday night.

On our way home, we stopped to pick up the remaining plants we needed and after dinner I settled myself outside and got to work.

Blank canvas (ugh and my camera setting was wrong for this pic! Can't get another one now!)

I had originally worked up a plan that seemed to work well, however we kind of went overboard on the peppers and so my first step was to revise where things were going to go. That’s OK; peppers are a daily staple around our house!

I had originally planned on two 4 ft rows of carrots, but ended up with only one. I had also planned on a 4 ft row of pole beans, but decided to leave those out and plant them with my crops later this summer. In their place I put a 4 ft row of zucchini and cucumber.

Overall, we ended up with carrots, zucchini, cucumber, peas (all from seed), four varieties of tomatoes and six varieties of peppers in the bed (all transplanted). My overarching plan once these crops are harvested, is to plant late summer/fall crops such as onions, beets, lettuce, kale and probably more carrots and peas. There’s gonna be good eats around our casa come the end of July and into August!

Pea seeds are actually peas!!

I’m in the middle of setting up a database of sorts on my computer, using Microsoft One Note, to track growing information.  I particularly want to track yield once harvest begins. It’ll be interesting to see how much each plant produces! In the meantime, we’ll be keeping a close eye on water needs and how well the plants do. We were out there earlier and I noticed a couple of bugs on the tomato plants I’ll need to investigate.

There’s also this guy to be patient with:

Oh he’s cute alright! And for now he’s staying clear, since the only edible plants are poisonous to him, but I do have carrots and other scrumptious treats growing, so we’ll be watching you Bugs!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2011 10:13 am

    Wow! Looks great. I hope your garden yeilds lots of vegies for you both.

Leave a Reply

