Skip to content

Ten on Tuesday

June 14, 2011

Time for Ten on Tuesday!!

1. How do you pronounce the word aunt? Does your pronunciation rhyme with ‘haunt’ or ‘can’t’?

Definitely rhymes with ‘can’t’. Sometimes I say Auntie though. But only in reference to myself, not my actual Aunts.

2. Do most of the people in your life know you blog? Or are you partially or totally anonymous?

They absolutely do! I’m quite public with it and always welcome new readers 🙂 I have nothing to hide.

3. When you grocery shop, do you prefer to bag your own groceries or do you like it when the store bags them for you? Paper, plastic, or reusable bags?

Honestly? I like bagging them myself. My initial thought was that I like them doing it for me, but once I really thought about it, I realized that  I like doing it so that I can pack together what’s stored together. Crackers with cheese makes sense for a snack, but they go in completely different places in my kitchen! We use reusable bags half the time. The other half we get plastic because we’ve forgotten the reusable.

4. Do you have a green thumb?

I’m working on it! Man, am I working on it. If you’ve been following my blog, you’ll know that I’m about to embark on an adventure in vegetable growing! Wish me luck!

5. If you watch the Food Network, which chef/show host is your favorite?

Not so much a Food Network watcher. But I catch it occasionally and I really love Chef at Home (on Food Network Canada). He’s so enthusiastic and makes some fantastic dishes.

6. Do you like to take baths? Do you take them very often?

I think I wrote a whole post on taking baths once. I love them. Adore them. Up until recently (the warmer months) I had them almost daily. The bathtub is my happy place.

7. What color are the walls in your kitchen?

My kitchen is connected to my living room, whose walls are grey. The wall/bulkhead above my cupboards is grey, but the wall between the counter and the cupboards is still builder’s white. We’ve talked about doing a tile backsplash someday.

8. Do you prefer to dine outdoors or indoors?

There are so many questions that lead to this answer: Is it buggy? Is it too hot? Is it too windy? Is there an umbrella? If the answers are no, no, no and yes, then outdoors. If any of the answers deviate, then indoors.

9. Describe your ideal weather.

25 degrees Celsius, no humidity, light breeze and sun. Perfect.

10. If you could learn any foreign language, which would you choose to learn?

Um, none. Languages are hard. I’m done with them. English and a smattering of French is good enough for me!  In university I had to take Ancient Greek, a must when studying Classical Archaeology. I couldn’t grasp it, so I dropped it and switched to Near Eastern Archaeology, where I had to take Hebrew. Nuh uh. Didn’t work. I dropped that and switched to Canadian Archaeology, where I had to take French, which as a good Canadian, I’d taken all the way through to OAC (Grade 13 for those of you who don’t know…we had an extra year in high school for a while. They stopped that a few years ago). So nope, no new languages for me.  Too stressful!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 8:47 am

    #8 years ago I worked summers landscaping, which meant lunch was outdoors, in whatever weather, usually in the shade of a tree, with dirty hands, smelly t-shirt, sitting on a cooler leaning on the tree trunk… but I tell you, you’ve never eaten a better PB&J sandwich with a bottle of cold clean water… a so very welcome treat for a weary worker, on a scalding hot day. In short eating outdoors holds a special mystique for me.

Leave a Reply

