Skip to content

Wagons

June 7, 2011

I fell off the diet-wagon this weekend.

Twice.

Sigh.

Friday night I was just so tired and we didn’t get home until close to nine, after running various errands. I desperately, with my entire being, wanted pizza. So we picked one up from Pizzaville.

It was the best thing I’ve tasted in my entire life!! Pepperoni, bacon, roasted red peppers and extra cheese. Brilliance. Of course every bit of it is on the big fat no list (except the peppers).

I was back on the wagon for Saturday, even managing to avoid cake at the baby shower I attended, but then we went out for dinner. At Kelsey’s I had fish and chips. And then we picked up a berry cheesecake for dessert.

Double sigh.

But you know what? I’m not going to beat myself up. No one is perfect, and I know I’m certainly not. It didn’t help that last Wednesday I had a slight breakdown over the whole thing. Dietary restrictions are not easy to get used to and it’s equally hard explaining why you’re not eating certain things to people.

I’m still adjusting and it’s OK to slip up on the dairy-yeast-gluten-sugar-free diet (hereafter the DYGS-free diet…pronounced ‘digs’…A pointed out that Y is sometimes a vowel!). The important thing is that I’m back on and am noticing how much better I feel when I am.

Maybe it was a good thing I slipped up; to  realize that I’m not actually missing that much is a valuable lesson, one that will probably help me stick to it…

…Until I’m better that is. The list is growing of the things I’m going to have when I give myself the all clear 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2011 12:31 am

    Apparently you are supposed to indulge yourself once every 2 weeks or something

  2. June 8, 2011 8:09 am

    I think the indulge part is a scam, to keep people on “a diet” rather than just changing the way you eat and “improving your diet”, there is a difference IMO. I noticed right away that while that pizza tasted good, I very quickly started to feel icky, slow and brain foggy. Same with the cheese cake. Personally I’m looking forward to getting used to eating like this and liking it. There is so much variety still available while eating healthy.

Leave a Reply

