Skip to content

Weekend Wind-Up

June 6, 2011

I’m stoked about what A and I were up to this weekend: we went to our first ever Farmer’s Market!

We pulled ourselves together, umbrellas in hand, and made our way to North Oshawa for the Saturday market. There are others closer to us, but the hours are during the work day and not exactly convenient for us. It was only 15 minutes away, so not really a big deal.

When we arrived, it was pouring with rain, but we figured if the farmers could handle it, so could we!

Since it’s still early in the season, there aren’t that many vendors but as the summer moves on that will change. We visited most of the booths, avoiding only those selling baked goods (which smelled heavenly but are off limits to us right now). Everyone was really nice, offering tips and advice about growing things and even giving us a few freebies. A in particular learned some very helpful (?) tips about growing mint.

Partway through our outing I had to stop and roll up my pants:

Actually, A rolled them up for me, to the delight of one of the vendors. “Now that’s love” she said 🙂

The rain was intense, and we weren’t long heading back to the car, but not before buying all this:

For only $7.50, we did really well! We enjoyed a nice salad made up of local produce and hard-boiled eggs (we bought some at our local produce shop earlier in the week) for lunch.

It feels good to be doing our part to support local farmers, and know that our food is coming from good sources!

I loved this pepper. Kind of looks like he’s smiling or laughing 🙂

After the market we made our way to the mall to escape the rain for a bit and I picked up a new wallet. It’s been four years since I last bought one and that’s just completely unacceptable.

Once we’d made the rounds at the mall, it was home we went so I could get ready for a baby shower I was attending downtown. One of my good friends from work is expecting a baby boy in August and I couldn’t be more excited for her!

I made it home by 7 and we headed out for dinner, since cooking was just not going to happen. We considered going to a movie, but we had already missed the early shows and we’re too old and lame to see the late showing, so we stayed in instead and finished watching Pineapple Express. It was entertaining. Seth Rogan was his usual self and at least James Franco had more enthusiasm than he did at the Oscars.

Sunday wasn’t that exciting and I don’t want to bore you with the details of our chores. But since all of Saturday was taken up with things happening outside the house, Sunday was the day to do everything that needed to be done in the house and in the garden. We did venture out briefly though, making a drop off to the Goodwill, a run to Home Depot to rent a lawn roller,  and stop in at Chapters so I could pick up a book on growing vegetables:

I can’t wait to get our garden going!

I hope everyone enjoyed the weekend and the eclectic weather that came with it, at least in Southern Ontario. There’s no doubt that Summer has arrived!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. amanda permalink
    June 6, 2011 9:26 am

    I read your blogs everyday! I’m so happy for you 🙂

  2. June 7, 2011 11:50 am

    Aw, Thanks Amanda! Hope you’re doing well 🙂

Leave a Reply

