Skip to content

For the Love of Beets!

May 19, 2011

My new-found love of beets continued last week, but I decided to take a different route this time and actually cook them. Well, technically A cooked them (or at least started the process), but I gave him instructions on how to put them in the oven (I was on my way home from work).

It started out rather simple: Place beets (with skin on, tops cut off if still attached) on a layer of aluminum foil. Drizzle with olive oil and a pinch of salt. Fold sides of foil over beets and wrap up in a packet, then place in oven at 375 degrees F.

Awesome right?

Maybe.

Here’s where simple became lengthy and complicated: I read somewhere that the fresher beets are, the faster they cook. I’d bought mine over a week before but had kept them refrigerated, thinking that would keep them fresh longer.

Apparently not.

I read that it could take as little as 30 minutes to roast beets, but it took over an hour for them to become tender enough to poke a fork through! We were going to eat them with our dinner, but I ended up having them as an evening snack instead.

I’d also read that once they were roasted, the skins would practically fall off.

Um, no, Did I buy some sort of mutant beet that defied popular convention?

I basically had to scrape the skin off, trying very hard not to dye my hands red in the process (must get gloves!).

But once the whole process was over and done with, I was able to sit down and enjoy my beet salad. Following a recipe I found on About.com, I mixed some olive oil, lemon juice and garlic, sliced the beets, tossed them in the dressing and then, of course, topped with goat cheese (in my opinion, a meal isn’t a meal without goat cheese).

It was very tasty, and very nutritious and provided me with two days of leftovers, but I learned my lesson: buy what you need and make sure to use it when it’s fresh!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

