Skip to content

Weekend Wind-Up

May 16, 2011

There’s not a whole lot of winding up required. A lot of our plans, mostly gardening and yard work related, were stifled by the persistent rain, so we improvised.

Friday night was perfect. We had pizza. We had wine. We watched sitcoms taped from the week (Rules of Engagement, Modern Family and The Office) and howled with tipsy laughter.

Perfect.

Saturday we went out and spent imaginary money. My favourite thing! It was mostly lawn and garden related. I’m really, really hoping to get my vegetable garden in this year! In hopes of finding vegetable plants, we went to a specialty garden centre in Goodwood, Richter’s Herbs. While they have a fantastic selection of herbs and seeds, they did not appear to have any veggies.

They did have though, quite the eclectic clientele. We saw a man (yup, he was a dude, at least according to his foot long beard) wearing a bright red Mexican-inspired cotton top (with an empire waist) and a calf-length turquoise skirt over black leggings. I bet he knew how to grow ‘herbs’ all right!

Saturday night we stayed in (who wants to venture out in the rain? not me!) and watched Tron Legacy.  It was ok. There was some serious CGI activity in recreating a young Jeff Bridges which was a little bit creepy. Ever notice how CGI characters don’t move their upper lips? What’s with that?

Sunday brought a day of chores, relaxing and visiting. A and I popped over to my sister’s mid-afternoon to visit with my family. We had a good little visit with everyone, including my parents, then headed home to tend to our chili. I wish I’d thought to take some pictures, but this was a very low-key weekend and I was a little off my game. It turned out really, really well. This is the recipe I used: Slow-Cooker Chili.

I tweaked it a bit, using things I had on hand rather than buy new ingredients:

  • Instead of diced tomatoes, I used stewed tomatoes with Italian herbs.
  • For the bean component, I used a can of white kidney beans and a can of black beans I had in the cupboard , rather than two kidney; and
  • I used a green pepper AND a red pepper, rather than just one green. Mo’ veggies, mo’ nutrition.

I have all my fingers and toes crossed that next weekend is nice and we get a chance to do some gardening. It’s a jungle out there.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

