Skip to content

Brie-ng On The Guests!

May 13, 2011

Tuesday night brought another first for A and I….Our first dinner guest: my mom! (My Dad is away on business).

On Monday I was pursuing my favourite sites and came across a recipe for Brie and Bacon Quiche on Tasty Kitchen (yes, it’s part of Pioneer Woman’s blogging empire. I’m obsessed. Quite aware).

It looked delish…..Cheese? Good. Bacon? Goooood. And brought together in a yummy quiche format? Yes please! I was desperate to make it and decided that my mom would be the perfect taste tester. And A of course (he’s my taste tester whether he wants to be or not)!

It was actually rather easy. I put the pie shells in the oven to pre-bake, and got down to the messy business of cooking the bacon. While the bacon cooked, I diced the cheese, and by the time I finished that, the pie shells were ready! The last thing to do before putting the whole shebang in the oven, was to mix the eggs, sour cream and whipping cream. My kitchen inherited this really fantastic old school hand mixer with A’s move in. I love it!

Exactly 45 minutes after I put it in the oven, it was ready to come out and looked perfect! It poofed up quite a bit, but deflated as it cooled. Despite the fact that I’m a superb recipe follower, I’m always wary that things just aren’t going to turn out. But this was not one of those things!

Beauty.

How did it taste? Amazing! I really enjoyed it, and I’m pretty sure Mom and A did as well. A’s comment was that I’ve yet to make anything that he didn’t like πŸ™‚

I particularly loved biting into a piece and meeting a spot of melted cheese. Yum!

The preparations moved quickly, so I didn’t take that many pictures, but the link to the recipe itself will provide all of the inspirational cooking pics you’ll need!Β  I should mention that I actually divided the recipe to make two quiches. I’m not sure if deeper pie crusts exist (and I bought the package that said “Deep Pie Crust”), but mine looked pretty close to overflowing after putting just half the cheese, bacon and egg mixture. Luckily two pie crusts come in a package! Now there’s a ton of leftovers (I find that quiche freezes and thaws fairly well).

Our first night of hosting was a success! I think we’ll gradually increase the number of guests we have over. Two people next time πŸ˜‰

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

