Skip to content

Weekend Wind-Up: Mother’s Day Edition

May 10, 2011

All of a sudden, the world is green again! The grass is soft and green underfoot and the trees are budding with life. It’s amazing how it happened so quickly, and I suppose I should be thankful for all the rain we’ve had lately.

Bubbles!

Our Mother’s Day plans for the weekend worked out quite well. So far A and I have done well dividing up holidays between our families. Saturday was a BBQ at my parents, since my Dad was leaving on a business trip Sunday afternoon, leaving Sunday itself for a visit to A’s family.

The BBQ was fantastic! My dad is a master on the BBQ and spent hours nursing a couple of rotisserie chickens:

No, that's not the rotisserie channel!

Along with my mom’s famous potato salad, a tossed salad courtesy of my sister and some grilled peppers, zucchini and asparagus, it was official. BBQ season has begun! My contribution was a batch of ooey gooey brownies, but they’re worthy of a post all their own. Stay tuned!

Since the weather was so nice, we spent a good chunk of time outside before dinner watching CJ explore the back yard. If you haven’t seen it yet, check out my post from yesterday, where you’ll experience a stellar display of my reaction to a spider on my arm 🙂

After dinner, A and I drove down to the lake and went for a long walk. It was my favourite time of day, where the sun was casting a golden glow over everything and I took some fabulous pictures:

You can just barely make out the CN Tower on the left. Such a clear day!

Once the sun went down, we weren’t long heading to the car. The itty bitty May flies are out and I’m pretty sure I ingested one. Bleh!

Sunday morning we got up bright and early to drive out to A’s parents East of the city. About an hour into the drive, this happened:

I’m sure numerologically speaking this means something, but A and I just thought it was fun.

We’re lame, I know. We’re quite aware but live blissfully with it!

Once we got reached our final destination, we had a fun afternoon of chatting, playing cards (Wizard…and I WON A GAME!!! I think it’s my first time winning at their house. Boo ya!) and eating. We had a turkey lupper (between lunch and supper), which was a special treat, and then around 5:30 we packed ourselves back up and headed home.

All in all, a family oriented weekend that went by, as usual, way too fast.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms in my life, and a special I Love You to my mom.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

