Skip to content

Election Day Pasta

May 4, 2011

When we were at Costco on Sunday, we of course stopped by many of the food stations they routinely have set up on the weekend. One of the stations was offering a lovely spicy sausage. It was quite tasty but we didn’t cave in and buy any.

But.

Later on we were at the grocery store and obviously it was on both our minds, because as soon as A said “I think I’m going to get some sausage for us to BBQ”, I practically jumped up and down with excitement and said “Oh my God! That’s a great idea! I love you!”

It could have been embarrassing. Though not as embarrassing, apparently, as my reaction to these:

According to A, I was quite vocal when I saw these in the store. I’ve managed to keep myself from buying these, but can you imagine??? I’m going to wait until a nice hot day in the summer to indulge in this yummy goodness.

Excuse me as I wipe the drool off my computer…

Back to the sausage!

All day Monday I thought about how I would cook the sausage. I visualized every detail in my head and couldn’t stop thinking about how it would taste. (I’m obviously at the end of a hormonally challenged time, to be thinking about food like this).

It went a little something like this:

Dice a sweet pepper and soften it a bit in a frying pan with some olive oil. I wanted red, for the colour, but they didn’t have any at the store. Just as good nutritionally is an orange one.

Break up a head of broccoli into small pieces:

Steam the broccoli until it’s bright green, but not soggy. I love using my battered Pampered Chef steamer.

Cook a bunch of pasta. We prefer rotini for the sauce coverage and absorption, but any kind will work.

BBQ sausage and slice up into bite size pieces:

Toss all the ingredients in a large bowl:

Add a jar of pasta sauce:

Top with goat cheese, and voila!

It not only lived up to my expectations, but totally surpassed them! It was fabulous! And the best part?

Leftovers!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

