Skip to content

Weekend Wind-Up

May 3, 2011

Uh, question: Where the heck did the weekend go?? I feel like it was just Friday and now it’s Monday! Not fair.

This weekend was a busy one. All sorts of  goings ons. Are you ready? It’s a long one! Maybe grab a coffee…

Here goes…

Friday night we went to a concert! I haven’t been to a concert in ages. We saw Buddy Wasisname and the Other Fellers!

99.9% of you are at this moment saying “Who?…. What?…. Why?”

I shall enlighten you. Buddy Wasisname is a band from Newfoundland (aaaaaand a light bulb goes off for those of you who know that’s where I’m from). They sing, tell jokes and generally goof around but also sing some lovely traditional Newfoundland songs. I’ve been listening to them (sometimes willingly, sometimes not) since I was 12 years old, so seeing them in person again was quite the treat. Plus, A was saturated with my heritage, a good thing since we’ll be heading there the end of July. He had no trouble understanding the truly unique Newfoundland accent and enjoyed himself a lot.

Most of Saturday-day was taken up with M2’s baby shower, which was a lovely affair! Having thrown four shower’s myself (two baby, two wedding), I have a tendency to analyze such events but can honestly say I enjoyed every minute of it. The games were inspired! One was based on a Price is Right game (I won!), and another on Fear Factor (I did not participate in that one). And the take home gift rocked: a candy bar, from which you scooped assorted candies into paper bags. Brilliant!

Once I was home and settled, and A went down for a nap (haha), I finally had a chance to watch the Royal Wedding. Taping it was genius, as I got to skip through the boring bits straight to the processions and ceremony. The Duchess of Cambridge looked stunning. I loved her dress! Lace sleeves are probably not on my list of wants for my wedding dress, but I adored the silhouette. Exactly what I want someday.

Once the wedding ceremony was over, I woke A up and we had a late supper of BBQ chicken. We opened the back door to find slight destruction. The wind from last week had blown the BBQ fabric cover completely off (but luckily it was still on the deck), and a section of the fence had been torn down.

Accompanying the chicken was one of my most favourite side dishes: grilled red peppers drizzled with balsamic vinegar and topped with goat cheese. So tasty and so easy! All you need to do is cut your desired number of red peppers in half (I can eat a whole one, personally, but only had one on hand Saturday night), brush both sides with some olive oil and grill on the BBQ until soft. Remove to a plate, drizzle with balsamic vinegar and sprinkle some goat cheese on top and voila!

We also had something I’ve never had before in my whole entire life:

Mashed potatoes from a box. Uh huh. Yup. I ate boxed potatoes. And will say that they were pretty tasty, though I’m not likely to make them on a regular basis (I’m not a potato fan). My (our) pantry inherited all sorts of stuff from A’s old place and rather than toss such things, we’re going to use them up.

Sunday arrived and we were up and at ’em doing chores around the house before heading out to Costco to pick out our new freezer! Our first purchase together 🙂 It’s an 8.2 cubic foot upright and it’s super cute. We considered a bigger one, but for the two of us right now, it’s a decent size and since it was a fabulous price, it’s no big deal if we decide to replace it in the future. Funny enough, that took up most of the afternoon and we didn’t get home until well after six, at which point A BBQ’d some hot dogs while I made muffins and then we crashed to watch some Battlestar Galactica for the rest of the night. 

And there ends the weekend! Hope y’all had a good one!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

