Skip to content

Weekend Wind-Up: Easter Edition

April 27, 2011

Sorry for the delay with my weekend wind-up! I was taken out of commission yesterday by a nasty headache that sapped all my strength. With all the weather ups and downs, spring is quickly becoming my least favourite season!

So let’s see…where did I leave off? I mentioned baking bread, and I wrote about some fun memories from the 80’s…..

Easter! Right. The whole point of the long weekend.

Being in a relationship and especially now that we’re almost living together (Our first official day is on May 1st!!), means that we have to divide the holidays. I’ve never had to do that before but luckily we were able to arrange things with our families so that we didn’t miss anything!

My family dinner on Saturday was a small affair with just us, my sister and her family and my parents. In the past we’ve had huge family dinners that include my sister’s in-laws, but a lot has been going on lately with both sides and this year it was easier to keep things low key. We had a super yummy prime rib dinner, and best of all, crab crisps as an appetizer.

I’m not quite sure how long we’ve been making these, but I think it’s close to 20 years. They are fantastic! A mixture of crab meat, mayo, cheese, green onions, lemon juice and Tabasco sauce scooped into sandwich bread that has been cut into squares and stuffed into mini-cupcake pans. Delish!

After dinner it was home we went where I prepared my contribution for A’s family dinner on Sunday. I made one of my favourites, Broccoli Casserole. It’s actually a dish my sister’s Mother-In-Law is famous for. Sorry no pictures, but I left the camera at my parents on Saturday night. Oops.

Broccoli Casserole

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 egg

1/2 cup mayonnaise

1 head of broccoli

1 onion, grated

1/4 cup cheddar cheese, grated

Handful of breadcrumbs

Instructions – Steam broccoli and place in a oven-safe casserole dish. In a bowl, mix soup, mayo, onion, egg and a bit of cheese. Pour over broccoli and mix until covered. In a frying pan, melt some butter and pour in breadcrumbs, stirring until brown and crumbly. Spoon crumbs over broccoli mixture, then sprinkle with remaining cheese. Bake until cheese is melted and browning at 350 degrees F.

Since we were heading out to A’s parents early Sunday morning, I had to make it the night before and luckily it refrigerates and reheats really well. I also doubled it and that had no effect on the taste either. Whew.

A’s family Easter was a nice contrast to mine: big and loud! It was awesome! I come from a large family myself (with aunts, uncles and cousins there are well over thirty of us, and that does not include my cousin’s kids), but since we’re all spread out, we don’t often get to have everyone together.

Though his parents offered their home as the location, A’s sisters were the main planners and cooks for the dinner and did a fabulous job (fist pumps ladies!).

My favourite moment was watching the older kids play with the little kids. I was reminded of Alice in Wonderland, when the Queen of Hearts uses the flamingos as croquet bats: the big kids each grabbed a little kid and used them to kick around a ball. Hilarious!

Monday morning rolled around and we lazed about and played cards until four when we packed ourselves up and headed home. We were lucky that the rain held off until we were on the highway….Not so lucky is that the rain wreaked havoc on my head well into yesterday when Toronto was plagued with thunderstorms. I’m a freakin’ barometer. Curses!

All in all, though it was busy, it was a great long weekend!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

