Skip to content

Get Inspired

April 15, 2011

You know, it’s funny. I read a lot of blogs and websites. Knowledge is my BFF. And a lot of what I read involves healthy eating and wellness. What’s funny about that? Well, the majority of what I read involves information on being a vegan and being a runner. Often at the same time.

And I am neither a vegan nor a runner, and I don’t anticipate ever adopting either of those lifestyles. Not permanently, anyways. So why do I read about it then? Do I secretly yearn to give up cheese completely (gasp!) and be one of those people I see on the street in -10 degree Celsius weather pounding away on the cement?

I don’t think so.

I think what it is is inspiration. Here these people are, striving to live the best life they can, as healthy as they can do it. I find that admirable and it gives me a boost to do the same, to do what I can to improve my well being. I may not be willing to cut out animal products altogether, but I can adopt elements of a vegan diet and reap the health benefits (I’ve been working to cut dairy out of my weekday breakfast routine). I have nothing against runners, but running for fun and entering marathons will never be my ‘thing’ (I read that you can poop yourself during long runs if you don’t take care of things before hand. Not for me!). However I can use their enthusiasm and passion about exercise to boost my own elliptical work outs, to encourage me to stay on just a little bit longer.

Some might read about such healthy living lifestyles and feel bad for not achieving the same level of dedication, but I think what we need to remember is that these bloggers are people. They are not perfect and neither am I. I’m not going to beat myself up for succumbing and eating foods that are bad for me or skipping a work out (which I did this morning).

Like everything in life:

If at first you don’t succeed, try, try, again!

Check out my blogroll at the top of the page to read some of the sites that inspire me on a daily basis!

Happy Friday everyone!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

