Skip to content

Loafing About

April 7, 2011

Little known fact about me: I love to cook, but only when there’s someone to cook for. I’ve been channeling my inner Suzie Homemaker ever since A and I got together, trying at least once a week to cook something different and new for us.

Last night, for the first time ever in my entire life, I made meatloaf. And at the risk of tooting my own horn, I think I rocked it!

Side note: I’m sure the composition of this photo would look better with the broccoli closer to the ‘loaf, but I have a six-year old’s mentality when it comes to my food: nothing on my plate can touch! Not even for artistic purposes. Yucky.

To clarify, I’m not a fly by the seat of my pants kind of cook. I’m incredibly jealous of people like my sister who can just toss things together and somehow it works and will be the best thing you’ve ever tasted! But that’s not the way I roll. I’m a recipe follower, all the way. Last nights meatloaf recipe was courtesy of my mom, who is my cooking idol. She has the midas touch when it comes to pulling meals together. Everyone loves her cooking.  In fact, my parents may end up staying with A and I at some point before their new house is ready in September, and one of the key reasons that doesn’t freak us out is because we’ll come home to home cooked meals every night!

Mmm. Mom’s cooking. Drool…

I made the loaf, following her recipe to a tee, with the exception of the dried mustard. I used a creamy dijon instead since I didn’t have dry on hand. I didn’t take any prep pics because raw meat grosses me out (I had to mix it with my hands. Ew.). And no ‘just out of the oven’ pics because just cooked meatloaf isn’t the most attractive meal I’ve ever seen. In fact, it looks kind of gross.

So, to spice it up, I made a Sweet and Sour sauce to drizzle over. A is a purist and enjoyed his sans sauce, but I’m a huge fan of sauces. And spreads. And dips. If you can drizzle it, spread it or dip something in it, I’ll eat it!

C’s Mom’s Meatloaf

1 lb Lean Ground Beef

1/2 cup rolled oats

2/3 cup milk

1 egg

3/4 tbsp Worcestershire Sauce

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp dry mustard

1/8 tsp ground pepper

1/8 tsp ground sage

Slightly beat egg in a medium bowl.  Add other ingredients and mix well.  Turn into a 9 x 5 x 3 inch loaf pan which has been sprayed with Pam.  Cook in a 350 degree oven for 1 hour.

Sweet and Sour Sauce

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup ketchup

1/3 cup plus 2 tbsp water

2 tbsp vinegar

Place sugar,  ketchup,  water and vinegar in small  saucepan.  Stir and bring to a boil.  Mix 1 tbsp of cornstarch and 1/2 cup water.  Add to ketchup mixture and stir until sauce is thickened .

Best part? Leftovers for lunch!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 3:11 pm

    And now I have dinner for tonight. Thanks!

  2. April 7, 2011 4:08 pm

    yum…wrote that down! I’m totally a recipe follower When I have down it enough, I may take out, substitute or add, but that’s pretty rare.

Leave a Reply

