Skip to content

Confession

March 29, 2011

I had cake today.

Gasp!

I know, not really the worst thing I could have done, though I’m trying to cut back on my sugar intake. But it was for a co-worker’s birthday and 1) it would have been rude not to partake and 2) my co-workers would have chided me something fierce for not indulging. I’m known for my sweet tooth 🙂

I’m on Day 2 of a health overhaul. So far, with the exception of the cake, so good. I worked out yesterday morning and have been keeping to my food resolutions, which include cutting back on the sweets!

I’m also trying to cut back on my coffee/tea intake. You see, when I confessed the other day about having only one cup of coffee a day (and yes, I’m still taking sugar in my coffee. Baby steps, people. Baby steps.), I was telling the truth. But what I didn’t tell you is that once I get to work I usually have a couple cups of tea throughout the day. Black tea. The stronger the better (I leave the bag in. It’s not steeped, it’s stewed). And while the caffeine content of tea is less than coffee, it still adds up. And so, I pledged to drink less of it. This, I’ve managed to stick to.

At least for the past two days.

Instead of coffee or tea, I’m drinking water, which was also on my list. So much water, I’m running to the bathroom every 1/2 hour! Our receptionist actually asked me if I was ok, she’s been seeing me go past her desk so often. As of right now, I’ve had 72 oz of water today and if my math is correct, that’s 9 cups!!

Things I’ve yet to do include drinking a cup of lukewarm water with 1/2 lemon squeezed into it first thing in the morning, and find a good greens drink mix. And by good I mean tasty. A and I are going to experiment with the brand he uses (which I mentioned was gross) and try and make smoothies using fruit. I will definitely let y’all know how that turns out.

The thing I have to remember is that if I slip up, it’s not the end of the world. One slice of cake isn’t going to kill me. I didn’t have a second slice, right? Be proud of that C! I just have to jump back on that horse again tomorrow!

Once I come down from my cake-induced sugar high that is….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

